Apple Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is a cake-y, moist cookie with a delicate honey taste (used a mild, clover honey) - not very sweet. I cut a large apple just smaller than chocolate chip size, and there was barely enough dough to bind everything together. The addition of ground cloves, ginger, and nutmeg to my second batch was nice. My cookies were just over 1 Tbsp. big, yielding 3 dozen, and baked in about 8 minutes. The kitchen smelled so good! On an absolute scale of cookies, it's a 3 1/2 star recipe (I'd like cookies to be crisper and more caramelized). As a healthy, naturally sweetened snack, it's really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I used substituted butter for shortning. They turned out just fine, and they were good, but just OK. Not as impressive to me as other reviewers thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Love these! They are the ideal "first cookie" for my little gal. The cakey texture is a plus for a toothless grin. I used butter, because I am more interested in a "natural" cookie low in sugar than reduced fat. Worked out just fine! I also used maple syrup, since those under 12 mos cannot have honey - also worked out great! Yummy for Mama, and yummy for babe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is a great cookie for kids' afternoon snack. I added a bit of extra brown sugar and all the kids enjoyed these. Everyone agreed that they had a mufin-like texture. They stayed soft the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
These cookies are very very good just as the recipe is written. I have made this recipe more times than I have made any other cookie recipe. Well liked by all in my experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Greenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I just made these cookies and I think they're pretty good. I increased the cinnamon (used a 'pumpkin pie' seasoning mix which was really nice) by a half tsp or so, and I also used two apples (grated) which worked quite well. I think I will try subbing some applesauce for the butter (I used butter not margarine) to reduce some of the fat. I'll probably use a jar or two of baby fruit as I have used it in cookies before with great results. I am always on the hunt for a nutritious cookie/treat I can feel good about giving my toddler, and I think these fit the bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thehotzip
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I had a couple of spare apples, and liked this recipe. After reading some of the other reviews I added a bit of light brown sugar, and slightly more flour. I also used tablespoons rather than teaspoons to spoon out the mixture. The cookies came out very moist. The consistency was too cake like for my preference, but on the other hand my mum loved them. I agree that the oatmeal works very nicely with the apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malmö, Skane, Sweden
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Really really good, moist and tasty. I used apple sauce for the margine. The apples give it a nice sweetness for it not having any sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Mercedes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I agree with the other reviews about adding brown sugar. I didn't add it this time but I definitely will next time - the honey doesn't add much sweetness. They are good as far as lower fat cookies go, but not as good as regular oatmeal cookies. The apples were a really nice addition :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States