Apple Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I tweaked it a little and put half butter (instead of margarine) and half applesauce and also added more applesauce instead of the chopped apple, I also added little bit of brown sugar and some stevia! My toddler loved them! so much cheaper than buying the healthy cookies at the store! can't wait to make different versions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinRookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Almost followed the recipe with the exception of substituting butter for margarine and using a little less cinnamon, but adding some nutmeg and ginger. Also made them bigger, as my yield was 32. Loved the flavors and the textures, but would definitely recommend dicing or mincing the apple as chopped pieces were bigger than I liked. Definitely a cakey cookie, more like a bar.Might try adding some chopped walnuts to give it a little protein, then, call it breakfast! Think I will also substitute some of the butter for applesauce. Less guilt, more enjoyment! Can't wait to try these with my spiced tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Made these according to recipe and they were okay... way too small, that's why the calories were so low. Also, in reading the previous reviews, I am wondering why people think margarine is healthy? I would make them again, but would add brown sugar, a bit of vanilla, applesauce, and maybe apple pie spice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary scarlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I did not care for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I just took these out of the oven & ate one. I don't know why anyone would add extra sugar to these, they are plenty sweet enough. I too replaced the margarine with applesauce. I added a handful of cranberries but I had to add an extra cup of dry ingredients to get rid of the soupy consistency. I had to bake mine for 25 minutes before they started browning. All in all a guilt free treat that I have no problem feeding to my 10 year old diabetic child. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
These cookies were great. They turned out more like soft granola bar plumps of joy. I made them semi-vegan though. Kept the honey (not vegan), used Earth Balance butter (vegan), and subsituted 1/2 cup applesauce instead of egg in one batch and a really really ripe banana in the other batch (instead of egg). I also added 1/2 cup chocolate chips to them which was great. I also added a little more than 1 1/2 cups of oats because my batter was a little runny. And another half of an apple bc my apples were small. A few additions and changes but I plan on making them all the time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
The dough is yummy, but once you bake it it's not as yummy. They spread out too much and don't rise. They looki like they should be crisp, but they're chewy. I'm very disappointed by this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
A nice hearty cookie. Dice the apple but feel free to leave the skin on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
These had a really good flavor. They were more like muffins than cookies, but still really good. I want to make them again and maybe add raisins or chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar-n-spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
These are so delicious! We put up our fall decorations and these went perfect with festivities. Great hearty texture, flavor and healthy for my family. I did a 1/4 c brown sugar and 1/4 c splenda instead of honey. Since I was out of honey. Loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airisaiia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States