Apple Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
So my kids loved them, ages 3 to 13. I thought they were good but need a little more??? I love the fact the ingredients are healthy, and I also substituted the butter for unsweetened applesauce. I will make these again, only next time I am chopping the apples tinier, so they are distributed better, and am going to bump cinnamon up to 1 tsp..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
A great healthy cookie that is wonderful for people with special dietary needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Love it! I substituted applesauce for the butter. This has to be one of the healthiest cookie recipes I've seen and my preschoolers love them. We'll definitely make them again (soon) and might even try turning them into muffins. An excellent soft cookie recipe with no sugar and no fats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This is a tasty cookie and I don't even have a problem letting the kids have a couple for breakfast. I added some toasted walnuts and although I chopped the apples this time, I would shred them like other reviewers have mentioned. The sweetness was perfect for our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Awesome. Delicious. Low Calorie. Total score.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
They are great!!! I added some ingredients though....1/4 additional flour (used all purpose), more cinnamon (I love cinammon, so I didn't measure the amount), 1/4 cup Brown Sugar, 1/2 cup Dried Cranberries and a little bit of salt...they were delicious!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikaela Lozano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Best Healthy cookie recipe I've found, my husband and I love these and eat them as our "guilt free" cookies. I sometimes make these for my kids but substitute the apple for chocolate chips (I know not as healthy but if they are eating whole wheat flower and oats its probably better than most breakfast cereal)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
If you are looking for a healthy, soft, very muffin-like "cookie", these are definitely worth a try, quick and easy to make... After reading reviews, I used 1/4 butter and 1/4 cup applesauce in place of the margarine, added 1/4 cup of ground flax for health benefits, 1/4 cup of unsweetened shredded coconut (for added texture). I used 1 full teaspoon of ground cinnamon (instead of 1/4 teaspoon), 2/3 cup of applesauce (instead of the 1 apple chopped). Also added additional spices: pinch or so of each nutmeg, ginger and cloves and added some dark chocolate chips. I will definitely make these healthy snacks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I have been on a mission to make the perfect healthy cookie and this is a step in the right direction. I used this recipe as a base and made several changes: 1. Butter, not margarine. 2. 1/4 tsp of almond extract along with the vanilla. 3. Used oat flour in place of whole wheat (about 1 1/4 cups) and added some ground flax seed (about 1/4 cup). 4. Added 1/2 tsp salt (this is essential and missing from the original recipe), 1/4 tsp Nutmeg and 1/2 tsp Ginger along with the Cinnamon (wich I upped to a full tsp). 5. Used closer to 2 cups of oats (old fastioned - not the quick cooking type) 6. Instead of apples I put in about 1 1/2 cups of a raw organic energy mix (seeds/nuts/raisins/crans). Holy cow! This cookie tastes amazing! Slightly cumbly but I think this has to do with the flour. I can't wait to try this with the apples too! This is a cookie you won't feel guilty about eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Cut the apples VERY small... and don't use too many. More is definately not better in this case. Otherwise, this is a very excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States