Apple Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Thank you, I have been looking for a recipe like this; all-natural sweeteners, all food ingredients, something I can eat when hungry without feeling guilty or ill. I made a couple changes: I creamed 2/3 c applesauce in with the wet ingredients in place of the chopped apple to save work. I also used 1 c rolled oats and 1/2 c quick oats instead of all quick oats. I also used real butter in place of margarine. These are VERY good and are quickly becoming my lunch. I'm going to bake a ton of them and put them in the freezer for quick snacks and breakfasts. P.S. The cookies are very moist when made with 2/3 c applesauce and might fall apart easily when being removed from the cookie sheet. I used parchment paper underneath the cookies in place of greasing the sheets, so I didn't have this problem. I just slid the paper off the cookie sheets on to the counter to cool after allowing them to cool on the sheets for five minutes. They are a hold-in-the-hand cookie instead of a hold-by-the-edge cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
The cookies were very bland. Not inedible, but definitely not for someone with a sweet tooth like mine. I think I'll try adding brown sugar next time and see if they're any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Yummy! Teenager and Preschooler both ate them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Outstanding Oatmeal Cookie. Made with my girls, 1 and 3 yrs old....they LOVE them! I added a little brown sugar and a packet of apples and cinnamon oatmeal to the mix. These are YUMMY and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Wonderful cookies! The smell is great, and the cookies are chewy and moist after they cooled. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I really liked this recipe. I enjoy making recipes I feel are healthier for my family. I, too, substituted applesauce for the margarine. I also added 1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips, to please the kids. They gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ulster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
these were very good, i brought them to my volelyball banquet and they were all gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
delicious! i used all purpose flour instead of the wheat flour, and added 1/4 cup of brown sugar (and used less honey).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
FANTASTIC. To make it a five star recipe though I made a few adjustments. I added about a 1/4 to a 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice. Threw in some extra cinnamon. Used brown sugar in place of honey because I didn't have any. And, I used chopped dried apples that I had in my pantry rather than fresh. Also, used 1/4 c. real butter rather than margarine and mixed 1 packet of instant apple cinnamon oatmeal in with the oats called for. If I were to make this again I would DOUBLE the recipe. For a healthy cookie you CANNOT beat these. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Overall this was pretty good. I did tweak it here and there and it lasted about 10 minutes with the kids in my home day care. I used regular butter not margarine, added 1/4 brown sugar, used 3/4 c. of oats and 3/4 crisp rice cereal. I also added a handful of mini chocolate chips and 1/4 wheat germ. Rather than an apple I used a little cup of applesauce. I cooked them on a cookie stone, so no need to grease the pans. I mixed all the dry ing. in 1 bowl and the wet ones in another, then conmined them. I dropped teaspoonfulls onto the pan and baked around 13-14 minutes. They are a bit more like a cake type cookie and they are not super sweet. They do not spread out much so you can fit a lot on one sheet. Perfect for kids or if you prefer a lighter cookie. Will make many times more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States