Apple Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This cookie is cake-like, nice and soft. I made two batches for my son's 1st grade class. The first batch was with good tasty granny smiths, the second was with red delicious. The granny smith batch was a bit wetter and much more flavorful, while the red delicious batch was very low in flavor. I recommend using good tasty apples. I also used butter instead of shortening and 1 1/2 c. of finely chopped apples in each batch. This was great for the kid's apple fair at school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
I love this recipe. I just made it for a sick friend. Did change it a bit, because I cannot see using soo much shortening - it's gross. I used butter instead...same amount. And then substituted an oriental pear instead of the apple. Used Almond slivers instead of walnut. All the rest was the same. It came out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
These were WICKED good! I was looking for a good recipe to use leftover apples in. These bake up really well - the dough puffs out nicely when cooked. GREAT flavor too - nice combo with the nutmeg, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGLEGUYWHOCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I read all of the reviews before baking these and I adjusted a couple of things. I used 2 tsp. of cinnamon, 1 tsp. of nutmeg and added 1 tsp. of vanilla. Also I found it to be very moist when mixing, so I added another cup of oatmeal. I really think they turned out great. Moist and flavourful. I gave it 4 stars because of the adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Fantastic cookies! I used whole wheat flour instead of the white flour, added about 2 Tbsp of whole flax seed and 1/4 cup ground flax seed, and instead of the nuts, I just used 1 1/2 cups of finely diced apple. I sprinkled them with cinnamon/sugar before I baked. Turned out great! I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
I have been looking for a moist oatmeal cookie recipe for years but have failed until this one caught my eye. Reading all of the reviews I took their advice and used butter instead of shortening and added chocolate chips too. Instead of dicing the apples I chopped them in my foodprocesser and my husband RAVED!! Thank-you so much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2000
make sure to remove cookies from the pan onto a cooling rack while still warm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I'm not sure what went wrong with these. I followed the recipe exactly and I was left with a thick, sticky batter. When I took them out of the oven they had gotten as big as pancakes and were just as flat. The flavor was bland and dissatisfying. My family ate them just to be nice, but I will most definitely not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
These were wonderful cookies. I did change a few things -- margarine instead of shortening, omitted nutmeg for more cinnamon & added chocolate chips. I made these for my daughter's Kindergarten class snack and everyone loved them! I will definitly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
I loved them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States