Apple Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I followed the recipe EXACTLY as written and they came out more like little cakes than cookies. They rise quite a bit and are somewhat dense. They do however taste very good, the apples and cinnamon go great with the oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Retrochick81

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very good! As others have mentioned, they are cake-like, we loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This recipe was delicious! Because of the consistency of the batter, I decided to make muffins rather than soft cookies - it turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I made these cookies exactly to recipe using Jonagold apples. When I put them into the oven, they melted into a single sheet of goo. What a horrible mess! It took forever to clean the mess up. I should have read more than the top two reviews, because scrolling down now, I see this had happened to other users.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
These are a really flavorful cookie! I used a red delicious apple, and 2 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, no nutmeg. I also substituted raisins instead of nuts and butter for shortening. My batter looked great; I don't know how other reviewers ended up with a too-liquidy batter. They did fall a tiny bit short of what I was hoping for, texture-wise...I love oats, but there seemed to be either too little or too much of them in this recipe -- they don't have that firm texture of a true "oatmeal" cookie. (Also-- This is supposed to make 36 cookies, but I got less than 20 so I must have made them too big!) 15 minutes did the trick for mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ansonia, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
these were AMAZING!! even my dad who usually doesnt like sweets loved them with a passion and i will definitely make them again. i used butter instead of shortening like the other reviews advised and a bit less nuts and it was great. baking wise, i just let them become golden around the edges, and the result was a cookie with a crispy outside and a nice soft inside
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
These were very good. I used spelt flour and had pecans instead of walnuts, but they were very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baton Rouge Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
My husband loves them! Like others, I used butter instead of shortening and added roasted flex seeds and more oats for some crunchiness. The cookies do not look cookies, but taste really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I did not care for these cookies. I thought they were dry and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I just pulled these out of the oven 20 minutes ago and they are DeLish! Not a big nut fan so i added twice the amount of apple and cooked them 7 minutes longer and they were perfect. Also, didn't have Nutmeg so i used Pumpkin Spice and it was YUMMY. Husband said that i could make more when ever:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States