Apple Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This looked really good and I had apples that needed to get used up but after the apples were cut I discovered that I didn't have any oatmeal. So I used packages of instant oatmeal with apples and cinnamon (3 = 1 cup). I also added 1/4 c. of flax seed to the dry ingredients. I cut down the brown sugar to 1/4 c. of splenda brown sugar. I added 2 4oz. natural applesauce to the apples to help with the problem of not using baking apples. And instead of the 4 tablespoons of butter I used another 4 oz apple sauce. They turned wonderful. Not overly sweet and didn't fall apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheryl Traylor
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I always use canned apple (Comstock Apple Pie Filling)for this recipe.It provides just the right amount of moisture to hold the bar together. I think if you use fresh apple slices,applesauce should be added to the layer of sliced apples to provide the needed moisture.A teaspoon to a tablespoon of Cinnamon or apple pie spice is definitely recommended to round out the flavor.This is a family and guest favorite especially with ice cream or yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Traylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is a great recipe - all the butter... I definitely used less, and added 1tbsp Flax Seed + 2tbsp water for consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bSunshineRae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Meh. Wasn't horrible but it really needs some spices, I would suggest cinnamon at least, maybe some nutmeg and cloves too. Mine was kind of salty, oddly. Probably because I'm out of unsalted butter and wow, there's a lot of butter in it. Definitely does not hold together in any way I would define as "bar-like". Maybe I had dry apples? I don't know. I think I will stick with the old Betty Crocker version of Apple Crisp, and just put it in bar form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
They dont stay together and they are so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
It was alright, nothing to write home about or anything. I tried because I needed to get rid of some apples. I don't think I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Soares

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
very good. followed the recipe exactly and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Be sure to cover with foil if the top is browning too quickly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Great recipe -- using it often. I cut up 5 or 6 apples rather than measuring. It works out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deanna
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
WAY too much baking soda - it felt like it was bubbling on my tongue! Good basic recipe over all. I wont be making it again... the search continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States