Apple Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cheryl Traylor
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I always use canned apple (Comstock Apple Pie Filling)for this recipe.It provides just the right amount of moisture to hold the bar together. I think if you use fresh apple slices,applesauce should be added to the layer of sliced apples to provide the needed moisture.A teaspoon to a tablespoon of Cinnamon or apple pie spice is definitely recommended to round out the flavor.This is a family and guest favorite especially with ice cream or yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Traylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is a great recipe - all the butter... I definitely used less, and added 1tbsp Flax Seed + 2tbsp water for consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bSunshineRae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Meh. Wasn't horrible but it really needs some spices, I would suggest cinnamon at least, maybe some nutmeg and cloves too. Mine was kind of salty, oddly. Probably because I'm out of unsalted butter and wow, there's a lot of butter in it. Definitely does not hold together in any way I would define as "bar-like". Maybe I had dry apples? I don't know. I think I will stick with the old Betty Crocker version of Apple Crisp, and just put it in bar form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
They dont stay together and they are so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
It was alright, nothing to write home about or anything. I tried because I needed to get rid of some apples. I don't think I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
very good. followed the recipe exactly and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Be sure to cover with foil if the top is browning too quickly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Great recipe -- using it often. I cut up 5 or 6 apples rather than measuring. It works out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deanna
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
WAY too much baking soda - it felt like it was bubbling on my tongue! Good basic recipe over all. I wont be making it again... the search continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was really crummy (pun intended). The "bars" did not stick together and the recipe was not even tasty enough to pass for a crisp. A huge waste of time/ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States