Apple Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2000
"My family loved this recipe! So easy to make, I could't believe that it would turn out to be a bar, but it sure did. I added tsp. of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg to the crumb recipe, since we like cinnamon. Also a little more apples."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Delicious! I'm just an amature cook... and so I almost made the mistake of pressing down on the crumbs for the bottom... ! luckily a keen observer stopped me, and I left the bottom all crumbly. Very easy and delicious bar! =P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Great recipe! I used about half the amount of brown sugar, and I substituted unsweetened applesauce for half of the butter. I also melted the butter and stirred it in rather than cutting it in. Mine turn out like bars as long as I let them cool completely before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2000
This recipe was incredible! It reminded me of the apple crisp they served in elementary school. This is a delicious Fall treat that is even more so with a scoop of ice cream on top. Thank you for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
GREAT RECIPE!! WHAT I DID WITH IT HOWEVER WAS INSTEAD OF PUTTING APPLES, I PUT STRAWBERRY JAM AND CUT DOWN THE SUGAR. THEN I PUT HALF WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR AND THEN THE OTHER HALF WHITE. IT IS EXCELLENT. MY HUSBAND HAS BEEN TAKING THIS TO WORK EVERY DAY!! I MAKE IT ON SUNDAY NIGHT AND HE EATS IT FOR THE REST OF THE WEEK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
This was great! My son's Kindergarten Class loved them. I took another batch to work and everyone scarfed them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I have been using this recipe since 2003. As I got the stained, dog-eared printed version out to make today, I decided I would chime in! This is fabulous- perhaps too crumbly to be considered bars- but it is rich and nummy, and versitile( I have been known to throw in blackberries, blueberries or whatever is in season with the apples)! Cut down the butter a bit if you want, and have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
made this last night and received a big WOW from my husband. We loved the taste. I'm gonna make this again on Christmas. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Great recipe -- using it often. I cut up 5 or 6 apples rather than measuring. It works out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is a great recipe - all the butter... I definitely used less, and added 1tbsp Flax Seed + 2tbsp water for consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bSunshineRae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States