Apple Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Great recipe! I used about half the amount of brown sugar, and I substituted unsweetened applesauce for half of the butter. I also melted the butter and stirred it in rather than cutting it in. Mine turn out like bars as long as I let them cool completely before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
I used about half of the butter and added cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and cloves. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Delicious! I'm just an amature cook... and so I almost made the mistake of pressing down on the crumbs for the bottom... ! luckily a keen observer stopped me, and I left the bottom all crumbly. Very easy and delicious bar! =P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
GREAT RECIPE!! WHAT I DID WITH IT HOWEVER WAS INSTEAD OF PUTTING APPLES, I PUT STRAWBERRY JAM AND CUT DOWN THE SUGAR. THEN I PUT HALF WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR AND THEN THE OTHER HALF WHITE. IT IS EXCELLENT. MY HUSBAND HAS BEEN TAKING THIS TO WORK EVERY DAY!! I MAKE IT ON SUNDAY NIGHT AND HE EATS IT FOR THE REST OF THE WEEK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was really crummy (pun intended). The "bars" did not stick together and the recipe was not even tasty enough to pass for a crisp. A huge waste of time/ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2000
With a 1/4 reduction in the amount of butter, this still turned out moist and delicious! The dessert was more crumbly than like a bar. It can't be picked up and eaten with hands, but it's still really good. The slight tanginess from the apples and the sugary texture of it is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2000
This recipe was incredible! It reminded me of the apple crisp they served in elementary school. This is a delicious Fall treat that is even more so with a scoop of ice cream on top. Thank you for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
These bars are delicious. I used only 2/3 of a cup of butter and mixed it with my hands. It worked really well. I ate these bars for dessert and also with my coffee in the morning. Will definetly make these agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Not Impressed. Not quite bars, not quite "Apple Crisp" as your husband calls it, not quite an "apple crumble" due to the size + construction. The flavor was bland, and certainly there are better tasting apple-oatmeal-bake-type recipes out there. Certainly there are others using less than an entire 2 STICKS (1 cup) of butter!! My arteries are hardening as we speak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
made this last night and received a big WOW from my husband. We loved the taste. I'm gonna make this again on Christmas. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States