Apple Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was really crummy (pun intended). The "bars" did not stick together and the recipe was not even tasty enough to pass for a crisp. A huge waste of time/ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
made this last night and received a big WOW from my husband. We loved the taste. I'm gonna make this again on Christmas. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Not very impressed. Added cinnamon and nutmeg and was still on the bland side. Not very bar-like. Ended up throwing out half the pan. I agree with the reviewer who mentioned the too predominant taste of salt and soda. There was something just a little bit off in the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I have been using this recipe since 2003. As I got the stained, dog-eared printed version out to make today, I decided I would chime in! This is fabulous- perhaps too crumbly to be considered bars- but it is rich and nummy, and versitile( I have been known to throw in blackberries, blueberries or whatever is in season with the apples)! Cut down the butter a bit if you want, and have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Great recipe! I used about half the amount of brown sugar, and I substituted unsweetened applesauce for half of the butter. I also melted the butter and stirred it in rather than cutting it in. Mine turn out like bars as long as I let them cool completely before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This recipe was very good... not quite my favorite, but still yummy. I added cinnamon and a sprinkle of nutmeg, because my opinion is that any recipe like this MUST have cinnamon! Probably won't make again, but we still enjoyed it quite a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
This was great! My son's Kindergarten Class loved them. I took another batch to work and everyone scarfed them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Delicious! I'm just an amature cook... and so I almost made the mistake of pressing down on the crumbs for the bottom... ! luckily a keen observer stopped me, and I left the bottom all crumbly. Very easy and delicious bar! =P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
These bars are delicious. I used only 2/3 of a cup of butter and mixed it with my hands. It worked really well. I ate these bars for dessert and also with my coffee in the morning. Will definetly make these agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Not Impressed. Not quite bars, not quite "Apple Crisp" as your husband calls it, not quite an "apple crumble" due to the size + construction. The flavor was bland, and certainly there are better tasting apple-oatmeal-bake-type recipes out there. Certainly there are others using less than an entire 2 STICKS (1 cup) of butter!! My arteries are hardening as we speak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States