Apple Oatmeal Bar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I just made this recipe and it is delish!! I tweaked it just a little because I am gluten intolerant so I used rice flour.. I also added 1/4 cup if applesauce because it looked a little dry...I also added raisins....I will make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I read the reviews and made a few major tweaks myself. First of all I doubled the recipe, subbed pecans for the walnuts, added some whole flax seed (about 1/2c) and toasted all of them first in the oven for about 15 min. I swapped the amounts for the applesauce and butter, and actually used vegetable oil. I used half the amount of flour, but used whole wheat, and added one egg and a tsp of salt. Because of the reviews, I tasted the batter before baking to test for blandness and it was fine - I used the full amount of brown sugar and added a pinch of ground cloves for spice. I put in two of the small boxes of raisins that I had in my cabinet. I spread it in a jelly roll pan and baked for 25 minutes, and they are perfectly seasoned and chewy like those big Quaker breakfast cookies. Maybe next time I'll play with other sweeteners (honey, maple syrup) to make more clean/whole food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Used whlole wheat flour and doubled the applesauce. Added heaping 1/2 c dried chopped apples. Pretty good! Like the idea of an egg to bind it but it's not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Just made this for the first time. I substituted wheat flour, doubled up the applesauce, used 1/2 cup of walnuts and 1/2 cup of slivered almonds, added 1 egg, and 1/4 cup of mini chocolate chips. I was looking for a "granola bar" recipe when I came across this one. This recipe is fantastic. It is great and so easy to make simple additions and changes to according to an individuals taste buds. Thanks for the recipe. Next time I'm leaving out the chocolate and adding protein powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyO2002

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Thanks for the add an egg tip! I used apple cinnamon oatmeal, and cinnamon flavored applesauce instead (omitted the cinnamon). Then drizzled with caramel syrup while still warm. Would go great with ice cream while still warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I used shorting instead of butter and can fruit blended in my bullet to blend. I also increase the amount to 3/4 cups to make it really moist. I will surely make this often. The grandchildren loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
The recipe is good but needed a bit of tweaking to make it even better. We double the applesauce, added extra cinnamon and added raisins. These additions make a way better bar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I changed them up by using apple pie filling(1 cup), applesauce (1/4 cup), 2 medium eggs & 1 more teaspoon of cinnamon. It turned out great to go with my morning coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
There's got to be something missing from this recipe. I made this, and it's too dry, too hard. It's harder than a granola bar. I felt something was missing with the batter, and I even added more applesauce to it. Sorry, but this recipe doesn't cut it. There must be something wrong with the recipe, something missing or the amounts are wrong. Baking time should only be 20 minutes too with what I got from this. Will never make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
these are a little dry but did get a little moister the next day. Great taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States