Apple Nut Cake with Rum Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I'm sure if the cooking time wasn't so off, that this cake would be tasty. However, after baking mine for 50 minutes (10 min longer than the recipe calls for), it was time for bed. I woke up to a deflated cake and tried desperately to bake it for 30 more min. The result was a cracker crust with a gooey middle...awful in other words. The frosting wasn't that good either. A lot of butter, apples, sugar and pecans wasted...not a cheap mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Made it following the recipe and after the 40 minutes it was not done. Added 10 minutes and thought it was doe but after a few minutes of cooling it collaped everywhere but around the edge. The taste was good but totally under cooked. I just made it again and cooked it a total of 1 hour and 10 minutes. It is cooling now and has not collaped so I am hoping it is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blueknight34
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I did this and added a pack (1/2 cup) of dried cranberries just because I like cranberries. Made two of them for a Work Group Christmas Dinner and their wasn't a bite left over. Everyone loved it. It might look like a meat loaf in the picture but it tastes awesome. So moist and flavorful. The prep time and sauce is a little extra work but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is the most Awesome cake I've ever had. I substituted real butter for the margarine and dropped the butter flavoring. I took the cake to work, where it was immediately gobbled up! I will definitely make this cake again, but for special occasions because of its sugar/fat content. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSECHASER62

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I followed the directions exactly and the results were a delicious and very moist cake. We ate the first slices of cake warm and then put it in the refrigerator. It was excellent either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Oh My Goodness this is so good. I didn't have any rum flavoring or butter flavoring so I used 1/2 c real butter and 1/2 cup margarine and 2+ tsp real rum for sauce. This sauce is really good over vanilla ice cream too. I used Fuji Apples and pecans. YUMMO. It did take another 10 minutes to cook and I used a Pyrex dish so I was surprised it took longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Delicious served warm with a scoop of Vanilla icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYBERGIFTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
this is a very yummy cake, was a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
Oh my goodness! I substituted walnuts for the pecans and didn't use the butter flavoring... but oh, my... what a wonderful thing! At first I was a bit nervous because the batter was quite stiff - more like a dough than a batter. My company LOVED this. My daughter insisted that folks try it without the sauce (or whip cream!) stating it was just as yummy without. She was right! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
I dared to exchange the rum flavoring for the real thing, medium priced golden rum. It was delish! I scaled it down to 8 servings too, cause I wanted to share with family and friends, and not have too much left over, in case I got midnight cravings. heehee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States