Apple Matzo Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This was easy and outstanding. However, I did make it low in fat. I used 3 egg whites in place of the whole eggs and I used 1/4 cup of applesauce in place of the oil.I sprayed the pan instead of greasing it. Then followed the recipe. It was great served warm from the oven and wonderful cold,too. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This kugel was absolutely delicious! I changed the scale for 20 people because I had a large crowd this past Passover. This recipe called for 8 eggs but because we watch our fat, I used 4 whole eggs and 8 whites. I also used a little more raisins and added the juice and rind of one orange. I think because of the sweetness of the orange, I might use a little less sugar next time. My crowd dosen't usually eat sweet kugel but they devoured it. It was light, moist and extremely tasty. This will definitely be the kugel I make for all my future Passover dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Excellent! So easy to make and tasted awesome! I did substitute 1/4 cup of applesauce for the oil (I try to cook using less fat) and gave the top of the kugel a dusting of cinnamon before putting it in the oven. Will definitely make again and forward on! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
really good kugel and incredible easy to make. used extra raisins and whole wheat matzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Mmmmmmmmm Mmmmmmmmmm Good! This is delicious. A wonderful addition to my Passover recipes although I am sure I'll be making this throughout the year. Thank you for a wonderful recipe. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This is going to be a mainstay for our household during the winter holidays. I couldn't keep up with everyone's requests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RABBITTZOSO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azusa, California, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
I also made this recipe according to the directions, and it was not good. Only one person in my house ate it, and they doused it with cream and sugar and ate it like cereal. Very bland. I wouldn't suggest it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redwood Valley, California, USA
Living In: North Fork, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This Kugel is excellent!!!! I made it to contribute to a meal at my in-laws, and it was an instant hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Our family and guests like this so much, I've now made it the last two years. I followed the recipe slavishly but needed to cook it 10 minutes longer. Also, next year I'll decrease the amount of sugar if the apples and raisins are again so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I made this recipe exactly as presented, using whole wheat matzos. Inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States