Apple Maple Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I used this as a base recipe as i dont like oats, i made my own crumble using digestive biscuits and added ground all spice to the crumble (about 1 tsp) and i part cooked the apples before then drained the juice and thickened half of it using cornflour then mixed back in with the apples so i had a nice thick sauce with the apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
My boyfriend is super picky about anything he eats but we both agree this was the holy grale of apple crumble. By far the best desert and so easy to make. Like many others i also added a pinch of cinniman and nutmeg to the topping mixture and it really added to the flavour. We served it with vanilla ice-cream and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley-Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This was REALLY good! Changes I made: I used 10 small apples and only 1/3 cup maple syrup. It was plenty sweet. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This recipe is delicious. It will replace my old recipe for apple crisp. The topping is crunchy and the maple really adds to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beccamcd_

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
As I am sitting here munching on my leftovers, I simply had to write a review! I am no baker (not really a great cook either) and this was SO easy. I used 4 gala apples (small-medium sized) sliced fairly thin so it would cook up quickly. I tossed the apples in a tsp of cinnamon and a tbsp of flour then poured over the maple syrup. I mixed the oat/brown sugar topping with my hands (seemed like the easiest way to get everything to combine well). I pressed it on top of the apples making sure I didn't leave any open spaces (MAKE EXTRA TOPPING IT IS SO YUMMY!) I baked it for probably an extra 20 min or so, so that the topping was browned and crunchy. Happy Crumbling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Simple and sensational! I had five apples to use or they were going to go bad. I used two Grannie Smith's and three Red Delicious (which worked great in this recipe, even though they are often not good for baking). I didn't have real maple syrup, so I used Smucker's Breakfast Syrup, which is made with Splenda. I sliced the apples thin, mixed with the syrup, combined the ingredients for the topping, then spread it on top of the apples. Baked a little longer to get the topping nice and golden brown. The house smelled heavenly and my brother and I enjoyed our autumn treat after dinner with big dollups of vanilla bean ice cream. This recipe is a definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
After reading all of the reviews with the changes that were made, I still decided to make this exactly as written. After baking it (and eating it) I found this recipe needed no changes, no "tweaking." The amount of topping was just right, it was not too runny (if you bake it long enough and allow the juices to thicken as it cools), had the perfect level of sweetness, and needed no spices. It's a good, basic apple crisp. Still, it was somewhat disappointing in that I had high hopes for a more prominent maple flavor and it just wasn't there, even though I used the stronger Grade B maple syrup. So while this was very good, it doesn't really set itself apart from other apple crisp recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Very delicious! I had some extra apples to use up and this recipe fit the bill. I used a scant amount of brown sugar since the red apples I used were VERY sweet and the maple syrup is sweet enough. Pretty snack/breakfast any day of the week. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Added cranberries, served w/ice cream. Good, easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
It was great. I had to take it to the office so we wouldn't eat it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States