Apple Kuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I made this recipe today with PLUMS. I too added a bit of fresh squeezed fresh cutey mandarin orange to the sour cream and cut sour cream in half and used a 1/2 block of cream cheese so I could eliminate 2/3 of the sugar. SUPER - this was closer to the Kuechen my mother in law used to make. She made with whatever fruit was around ... apricot, peach, rhubarb....get kids involved with this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Made this recipe for my father in-law's birthday. He lived in Germany for two years and was so excited to have a German dessert! It was absolutely delicious! I did make one small change by using French Vanilla cake mix instead of yellow cake mix. I think it adds a little bit extra depth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMargaretAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Made this today 'Thanksgiving 2012' I was very disappointed with the 'cake mix' crust, it was dry and hard. I did scoop up the apple mixture into serving bowls and added whip cream, it was okay but it wasn't what I was hoping for. The cake mix needs something added for moisture, I doubled the sauce recipe hoping that would add moisture but it only made the topping yummy but no help to the cake. I have ideas on how to make it better but I would rather make a recipe I can count on and leave this one behind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I made this from my (German) grandmother's recipe, which is almost identical. She used 1/2 cup margarine and no coconut (although I think that'd be a good addition). Also, the apples were thinly sliced, and it only cooks for 25 mins instead of 35. So easy and super delicious! It is very sweet though, a small square is enough for me. Make it for a party or large group of people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. The crust (cake part) ended up being so thin and crusty, you couldn't cut it. It was not an appealing desert to the eyes. Sorry but I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I made this recipe for an international banquet at our church. Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. My mom especially loved it:) Thanks so much for sharing this easy and delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This was my favorite dessert growing up but I never got the recipe. This seemed close to what I remember so I made it exactly as written. The flavors were wonderful but it didn't bake well. After 55 minutes the apples were still too firm for a fork, and by that time the crust was too hard. I tried again, slicing the apples thin as for a pie. I also increased the butter to 1/2 cup because the crust was too powdery. And again, after 45 minutes the apples were still too firm. I don't know what I'm doing wrong. It makes me think I need to half cook the apples in the microwave first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made it twice in one week, for two different parties if that tells you anything. I greased and floured the 9x13 pan, and then I used a full stick of butter in the crust, patted lightly, and had no problem with it sticking to the pan. I sliced my apples thin-ish (quartered the apple, then cut each quarter into 5). They were still thick enough slices, but thin enough to bake. And 3 apples was more than enough to cover the cake. I prebaked my crust for 10 minutes, then added the apples and sauce for about 30 minutes. Its a delisious twist on your standard apple bake. I think next I'm going to try switching chocolate cake mix for the yellow one, subbing raspberries for apples, and some cocoa powder or vanilla for the cinnamon. This recipe has opened up all kind of dessert possibilities for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Good recipe! I followed other reviews and used 1/2 c butter and 1 c coconut. Easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Really good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States