Apple Jicama Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Love this slaw !!! Crispy, crunchy, & delicious!!! I love chef Johns recipes !!! Didn't change a thing, his recipes are spot on !!! We had it tonight with beef enchiladas (from this site) & our favorite Mexican rice(from this site). This slaw is a keeper, will make it again!!! thanks chef John, love your recipes!!! I rate this big 5!!! Could easily be a 10. Carol k Knutson
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This is a wonderful slaw alternative. If you're a slaw lover, this is for you. Don't be scared to add enough hot sauce and pepper, they offset the sweet and mayo beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I loved this recipe with fish tacos! I did add 2 Tablespoons of chopped green pickled jalapeno peppers and diced pineapple. I omitted the corn nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This is great! I didn't add corn nuts and used lemon juice instead of pineapple juice. I think day 2 is best for eating it as the flavors can marinate with themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
My little girls live this! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was really, really good - even without the corn nuts (whatever they are!) It will now be my go-to slaw recipe. Two things: I disagree that it must be consumed on day one. We managed to keep it for several days and it was just as delicious. Also, on Day Two I made Quinoa and Black Beans from this site, put it in soft corn tortillas and topped it with some leftover Apple Jicama Slaw and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I am not big on coleslaw, but thought this would go great with some BBQ. Let me just say...THEY LOVED IT!!! I didn't add the corn nuts, but did do the rest. I used low fat mayo and Sriracha hot sauce (because I wasn't sure which one and had that on hand) I will be making this again for the 4th.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This was good but not fantastic. I didn't think the dressing had enough kick to it. Most people who ate it Easter dinner thought it was bland. May try it again and tweek the dressing somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Made it with mayo alternative (canola) due to my 2-year old's egg allergy and without the hot sauce--she had 5 servings (eaten with all of her fingers), along with a good serving of a salmon loaf recipe that I also found on this site: "Mom's Salmon Mousse." Great meal for the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucie Villeneuve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meredith, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Conway, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Maybe I should be more generous with my rating given the fact that I substituted yogurt for mayo and I don't know what corn bits are, however, even with those ingredients I don't know if we would have liked this. We'll stick to regular coleslaw. Ingredients are cheaper anyway. It just didn't have a great flavor and I even added more of everything to try to make it taste better. No luck. I think my other mistake may have been putting it in the processor instead of chopping it, but that still shouldn't affect the flavor. Hubby said "never make this again!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Apple Coleslaw

See how to make a sweet twist on classic coleslaw.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States