Apple Jack Iowa Pork Chops from Des Moines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I never have been a big fan of pork chops. They just didn't taste like much. But I found this recipe after buying a bottle of Applejack Brandy and wanted some recipes for it. All I can say is.. WOW!!! I love pork chops now!! They were delicious and the sauce is so flavorful. Served them with steamed asparagus and backed potato. It was a huge hit with my husband too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DGrothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Such an easy dish to prepare. Made and served this dish over rice.... Wow, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I cut back on the thyme and used apple juice with a splash of regular brandy. Turned out great - very succulent and flavorful. Sauce was delicious with mashed potatoes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I found this dish awesome! I wsa hesitant to try it since it had so few ratings, but I am glad I did! I used the apple jack. I really loved this dish. Reminded me of a stroganoff but with pork and apple. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacecoaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
The sauce seemed really overpowering, yet strangely didn't flavor the pork chops much. Good ingredients, but wrong proportions. Specifically, I'd recommend cutting down on the applejack. I thought I might get buzzed just eating one serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Florida, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I prepared this recipe and used apple juice instead of brandy. I wasn't impressed with this recipe, although my boyfriend liked it. I found that the thyme taste was way too overpowering. If I was to do this recipe again, I would probably only put half the thyme. Overall, I think this was just an 'ok' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Thanks for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed my recipe! I love the flavor of the apple brandy, but for those who prefer a non-alcohol version, apple juice or cider can be substituted for the brandy with excellent results. Happy cooking and eating! Kaye Schnieders
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This was REALLY, REALLY good...the brandy and cream combine nicely for a rich flavorful, but not too heavy sauce. The Granny Smith apples add the perfect tartness! My husband is a very talented chef in a fine dining restaurant, and I am not easily impressed! I will make it again. I served it over a balsamic rosotto and garnished with fresh thyme. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KREBECKY
Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States