Apple Honey Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Quite good! We cut the sugar to 1/4 cup and the honey to 1/2 cup. Substituted 1/2 vanilla rice milk for 1/2 the oil. Also, had no nuts. Easy to make. Shared with the neighbors, who also liked it. Plenty sweet with less suagar and honey. We will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! i made some alterations in an attempt to make it healthier. I used 1/2 cup splenda and 1/2 cup of splenda brown sugar. i also only used 1/2 cup of honey. i used half applesauce and half olive oil. i also used whole wheat flour and i didnt have allspice so i added nutmeg instead. I also chopped the apples up instead of shreaded them. I will DEFINATLY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Delicious! It was very sweet, but I like it sweet. I made it fat free by substituting pumpkin for all of the fat,which produced an extremely moist cake. I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Okay - all honesty......was drinking....made the cake....messed up the flour mixture....realized the mistake, pulled the cake out of the oven (within 10 mins) added the appropriate amount of flour and this cake was awesome! Very,very good - thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was a great cake. I actually made 2...1st was exactly as written and 2nd I made the following changes: used 2/3 c white sugar + 3 tbs Splenda, 1/2 c canola oil + 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce, 1 egg + 1/4 c egg substitute, 1/2 c honey, 1 1/2 c all-purpose flour + 1 c whole wheat flour, added 1/4 tsp ground cloves, I chopped instead of shred the apples and used white sugar instead of flour on the baking pan. It smelled so good coming out of the oven we dug in as soon as I flipped the cake out of the pan. I loved that the only chopping was for the apples. We only ate the doctored cake so far (the other is for my office) but it was so good with all the changes I can only imagine that the full effect one is even better. So quick and easy, my 2 1/2 yo dd helped and had a great time. I can tell I'll be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This is a great recipe. I didn't have allspice so I substituted 1/2 tbsp nutmeg..it was delicious. I used 2 red delicious apples and one granny smith. I used my hand grater and used the largest part of the shredder. I noticed that the granny smith stays white and produces more juice, while the red turned browm, even after sprinkling w a little lemon juice..really makes no difference, looks the same when done. I also made this a second time with 1/2 c chopped walnuts. the cake came out bigger..I am not that fond of nuts, but the people that were loved it. I think it is moister without the nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This cake was a hit! I took it to a church fellowship and it was gone in less than 5 minutes! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great. I may add a full cup of nuts next time, but only because I REALLY like nuts. Good flavor but not too sweet and really moist. I will definately be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
An excellent cake for Rosh Hashanah. I followed the recipe pretty closely with a couple of small changes: I sub'd 1/3 cup of the oil with apple sauce and increased the amount of apples to 4, and I upped the spices, adding 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp cardamon, 1/2 tsp of ginger & 1/8 tsp cloves. The cake turned out wonderfully! Very moist and quite delicious, and hubby even said it was the best honey cake he had ever had (I blush!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sweetiesmj
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Delicious! Easy to make as well. Moist and flavorful. I followed the recipe, only adding some nutmeg because I love the spice with apples. I made a simple dessert sauce to go along with it: 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup heavy cream, 1 teaspoon vanilla in a saucepan. Bring to boil for 3 minutes and serve warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BLUEYEZ510
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I made this for Rosh Hashanah and the fam LOVED it! I made a few changes: 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup applesauce, reduced to 1/2 cup honey, used 1.5 tsp. pumpkin pie spice. I used 3 Cortland apples (in season here in CT in late Sept.) and topped it off with a honey, powdered sugar, pumpkin pie spice glaze! So yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEYEZ510

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States