Apple Honey Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was a great cake. I actually made 2...1st was exactly as written and 2nd I made the following changes: used 2/3 c white sugar + 3 tbs Splenda, 1/2 c canola oil + 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce, 1 egg + 1/4 c egg substitute, 1/2 c honey, 1 1/2 c all-purpose flour + 1 c whole wheat flour, added 1/4 tsp ground cloves, I chopped instead of shred the apples and used white sugar instead of flour on the baking pan. It smelled so good coming out of the oven we dug in as soon as I flipped the cake out of the pan. I loved that the only chopping was for the apples. We only ate the doctored cake so far (the other is for my office) but it was so good with all the changes I can only imagine that the full effect one is even better. So quick and easy, my 2 1/2 yo dd helped and had a great time. I can tell I'll be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Just perfect. Cant describe it any other way! So moist and yummy!! I served this warm from the oven and drizzled each piece with warm honey and it was gobbled up in minutes! A definate fall or holiday recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Made this for a brunch pot luck at work and it was excellent! Will definitely keep this in my recipe file for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I baked 2 smaller bundts at about 45 mins each. I too backed off on the honey to 1/2 cup, glad I did, it's rather sweet. It's not as moist as I would've anticipated with the honey. All that maybe because it was baked smaller, I will try another time in a large bundt and see. I am going to make some caramel sauce this evening and drizzled it over a warmed up slice of cake for dessert. On further thinking about this cake...I think a warm caramel glaze poured over it while the cake is still warm (therefore they cool together) would be what I do the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
excellent, moist, not too sweet. A perfect cake for dessert or with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! i made some alterations in an attempt to make it healthier. I used 1/2 cup splenda and 1/2 cup of splenda brown sugar. i also only used 1/2 cup of honey. i used half applesauce and half olive oil. i also used whole wheat flour and i didnt have allspice so i added nutmeg instead. I also chopped the apples up instead of shreaded them. I will DEFINATLY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I used granny smith apples and followed the recipe exactly but I didn't put any nuts in. It was AMAZING to say the least. I took it to a family Rosh Hashanah dinner and they kept sneaking back to eat more of it. Did I say it was AMAZING? Try it!!! It's really good and easy to make as well. Thanks you Jayda!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Arenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Wonderful!! I used Cameo apples that weren't as crisp as we like for eating fresh. I used only 1/2 cup oil + 1/2 cup applesauce instead of 1 cup of oil. Cake was moist and delicious! The whole family loved it. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I forgot the vanilla, but it still came out ok. Might try it again to see if the vanilla makes that much of a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This is a great recipe. I didn't have allspice so I substituted 1/2 tbsp nutmeg..it was delicious. I used 2 red delicious apples and one granny smith. I used my hand grater and used the largest part of the shredder. I noticed that the granny smith stays white and produces more juice, while the red turned browm, even after sprinkling w a little lemon juice..really makes no difference, looks the same when done. I also made this a second time with 1/2 c chopped walnuts. the cake came out bigger..I am not that fond of nuts, but the people that were loved it. I think it is moister without the nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States