Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
i hate when people change everything and then review the recipe poorly BUT i have made this many times (exact instructions first then made changes). this cake rocks. the glaze is delish. i find light brown sugar tastes way better in it than dark. i also baked it at 325 for 70 min. i used half white and half brown sugar and sub'd apple sauce in for 1/3 the amount of oil. (1/2 cup ap. sauce, 1 cup oil) i also increased cinnamon to 1 teaspoon. that's my fave way. made it for my aunt's bday. she hates sweets and had a second piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia Fields, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schererville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I've already made this cake twice this week because I just can't get enough of it! I did take the advice of several reviews to bake @ 325 for 70 minutes, and used applesauce for 1/3 of the oil - thanks! I also used the tips to put foil or a paper plate under the rack to catch the glaze drippings - until today. Instead, I put the cake plate under the rack, then set the cake right on top of all the drippings - no mess to clean, no waste, and now underneath is saturated as well. Mmm-mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rotterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I substituted 1/3 of the oil with applesauce, doubled the cinnamon, added a dash of nutmeg, substituted half of the white sugar with brown sugar, and half of the other half of white sugar with Splenda. To use as much of the glaze as possible, I put a large plate underneath the cooling rack as I drizzled the glaze on the cake, and then switched to a clean plate. Then, I drizzled the glaze that dripped onto the first plate. The only thing that seems off is the cooking time and temp. 325 F for 70 minutes was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
OMG! This apple cake is so moist and so delicious! It's the perfect fall dessert. I used half white sugar and half brown sugar and next time I would probably cut back on the oil because it was almost too moist. I used 3 Granny Smith apples and didn't add the walnuts to the cake but rather sprinkled them over top of the cake along with the caramel glaze which was fabulous. I did add just a splash of vanilla to that to give it more of that "caramel" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was SOOOOO yummy! I used Splenda instead of sugar, the Splenda browqn sugar blend instead of brown sugar and added 2 extra apples. AWESOME, moist and sooooo tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Smile021
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I made this cake for a co-worker's birthday and everyone loved it! They raved over the caramel glaze and loved the fact that it had apples and walnuts in it. I'll be making this for future family get-togethers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smile021

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I thought this was very tasty but I found the batter to be really thick and the end result was a dense cake with a very hard crust. I agree with another reviewer to cook this for less time. I would also double the caramel glaze because I couldn't taste it at all. All that said, everyone still enjoyed it and I will try it again with some changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I served this at a party and everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe! It was great because I made it the day before the party and just drizzled the glaze over it when I was ready to serve it. I doubled the cinnamon like others had suggested and only baked it for 70 minutes at 325. It was moist and delicious! I'll make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacy
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Delicious! It keeps really well, covered, on the counter for several days too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wayne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This cake was DELICIOUS! My whole family loved it. It was very, very easy to make. The only change I made was that I doubled the cinnamon and the cake was moist and wonderful. The smell was heavenly also. The glaze was a nice touch. Thank you for the recipe, I'm sure I'll be making this many, many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States