Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by amandajo
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was my husbands FAV dessert that I have ever made! I have made it 3 TIMES this week for him to take to work. I did follow suggestions for substituting 1/2 cup of oil with applesauce and baking it at 325 for 70 minutes. The only suggestion that I have is to make the caramel glaze the day that you plan to serve because it gets gritty if made the night before or find a different recipe for caramel. I was told you can caramelize Eagle Brand Condensed Milk but haven't tried it. All in all this was a FANTASTIC dessert! Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This recipe reminds me of my great grandmother's spiced apple cake. It's absolutely delicious and makes your house smell wonderful! I left out the walnuts and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Most of the time, I have either Fugi or Gala apples on hand and I used those (one each) in this cake in lieu of the Granny Smiths. I also split the sugar between white and brown. I let it sit for an entire day before I let DH know I had a cake baked. I don't know if that helped the flavors meld or not. I do know that it surely did not hurt!! The only thing that really bothers me is that I wanted to take a picture and submit it. The cake was beautiful, absolutely delicious and gone in a flash. DH took half to work where 4 co-workers have asked for the recipe and I shared the remaining half with BF and neighbor. Will I do this one again? You betcha!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Very good cake. I made as a sheet cake because that is the pan I had. I also subbed 1/2 cup of oil for cinnamon applesauce, only added 1 3/4 cup of sugar and regarding the apples used 3 cups of red rome-not sure how much the 2 apples would have yielded. I cooked on 325 and at 50 minutes it was done. Brought into work today and everyone has said how much they love it! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
A good recipe, and delicious autumn dessert. I followed some reviewers and cut the oil content to 1 cup, and added 1/2 cup of applesauce. This keeps the moisture without making it greasy, and adds more apple flavour. Also, I didnt believe the baking time when I read it so I checked it after 45 minutes and it was done, a bit overdone even. I reccomed checking after 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I followed the advice of other reviewers and subbed 1/2c of applesauce for 1/2c oil. I also used all whole wheat flour - that was probably a bit much, as it was much more hearty-tasting than most cakes. I'd probably go 3/4 ww 1/4 white next time. I added probably 4 medium/small chopped apples, and I'd add more next time. And, last sub: 1/2 white 1/2 brown sugar. I didn't go with the glaze, as I didn't want to add a stick of butter to this thing, and it was very tasty without it. Disappeared very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lexpsu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Jervis, New York, USA
Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I made this just as directed. My family gave it rave reviews. All the way from my husband, daughter, son-in-law, and young granddaughter. Fantastic, thanks for sharing MrsMorton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This cake was good,but not worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassymama1981

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Fantastic recipe!! I substituted whole wheat flour for 1 cup of the flour. It was moist and delicious. Definately put a pan under the cake to catch any drips from the glaze. You will not want to waste a drop, so just spoon it back onto the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States