Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
OMG! This apple cake is so moist and so delicious! It's the perfect fall dessert. I used half white sugar and half brown sugar and next time I would probably cut back on the oil because it was almost too moist. I used 3 Granny Smith apples and didn't add the walnuts to the cake but rather sprinkled them over top of the cake along with the caramel glaze which was fabulous. I did add just a splash of vanilla to that to give it more of that "caramel" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Made this cake for a co-workers B'day. Everyone raved. It was great. Will make again and again I'm sure. I will use cream instead of milk next time but it was great just by the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
The only problem with this cake is we cant keep our hands off of it! :) Very yummy. Reminds me of a cake my mom made when I was a kid! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Brought to a family gathering and all said it was to die for! I did adjust the recipe according to many reviewers using 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar, 1 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce and doubling the cinnamon. Due to traveling, I spooned the caramel glaze on individual slices. The glaze makes the dessert! Was told I have to make it again for the upcoming holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I really liked this cake. I used the 1 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. This cake was so moist and almost tasted like apple pie in cake form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
So good! I used 1 1/4 cup vegetable oil and 2 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice instead of the 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. The glaze was really runny, next time I might let it sit and cool a little before drizzling it on the cake. However, the cake soaked up the glaze and it tasted great. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
What is there not to love - please don't change this recipe. Granted it isn't for every day because it is rich but great for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I did have to change this a little-couldn't find my Bundt pan and I am allergic to walnuts so I cut them out. Normally I don't review when I make changes because I feel like I am not really reviewing the recipe (wish more people felt this way). However... I feel like this is more or less the same cake and I wanted to rave! This cake was a huge hit at the dinner I went to. NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Wow! I took this to a potluck and there was not a crumb left. Wonderful cake, I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Wow! After making this cake I knew it would go over well, but I had no clue how EVERYONE would rave about it. My neice, who NEVER eats anything even had 2 slices and took another 2 home. That's saying alot. It was moist, not too sweet but sweet enough to cure a sweet-tooth. I used applesause instead of 1/2 the oil and baked it per the original recipe as far as time and temp. I was quite a success, sadly there weren't any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States