Apple Hand Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This was great! My parents loved it. I messed up at first and put the mixture in a little hot, warning let it completely cool down! The dough will rip and the liquid will seep out. I also didn't pinch the edges good enough. Then I made more and they came out great. I also added blueberries into the second batch with the apples which was really nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Chef John Another Fabulous recipe!! So simple! I did make your pie crust recipe! Delicious!No changes needed! Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Loved these hand pies! I used my Gravenstein apples and they turned out absolutely delicious! I will definitely make these again. Much appreciation Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Excellent! Cooking the apples is a great idea and speeds up the cooking time. Plus I was able to adjust the sugar and spices as the apples was cooking in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomOf3
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I decided to give this recipe a try after seeing it in the June/July 2014 Allrecipes magazine. I thought using the star shaped cookie cutters was a really clever idea. I used one box of the Pillsbury refrigerated pie crusts, which made about 11 pies, using a 3 inch star shaped cookie cutter. I was able to cut out 8 stars on each sheet, then balled up the dough and rolled it out again. The filling is absolutely delicious! The little hand pies turned out great and were super easy to make. My kids loved them and I like how using the cookie cutters makes a nice dessert portion size. Definitely would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I will never make another apple pie the standard way. This recipe has changed my way of baking. Thank you sooo much, my family fight over these delicious hand tarts and pies, I wish I could give it more stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Wonderful recipe made as stated. However I have changed the recipe to Fuji apples NO sugar or water added. The apples cook down making its own juice. But don't cook them thoroughly. This recipe is great made into a regular Apple pie. Apple's can be substituted with firm pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Delicious! I used macintosh apples instead (5 small/medium size) and made 8 turnovers with double the patry dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina_Papou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I loved this recipe. Not only was it so easy it was really yummy. I went apple picking at a farm and make some to give away to friends. They were really cute wrapped up in parchment paper with a little ribbon tie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Firecracker Bakery
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
These are wonderful! I used 8 small freshly picked apples which yielded 3 cups of diced apples. I doubled all the other ingredients. I was able to make 4 hand pies each having 1/3 cup of cooked apples. I used Kroger brand 'unroll and bake pie dough' in the fridge section to save time! My kids made these and loved them. My kids used my 8.5" round cookie cutter to cut out dough. My husband keeps asking me to make them again! Very good! Great fall dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Firecracker Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States