Apple Ham Grilled Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This was a nice little sandwich. I noticed that there was mention to add milk but milk was not listed in the ingredients. I added about 3 tablespoons. About the same amount you would use when making French toast. Overall I thought the sandwich was tasty but I still felt it needed a little something. I might try it again and add a little bit of cinnamon. It could also be the apples I chose. I used Fuji apples because that is what I had in the house. I was expecting a little more sweetness from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This was a unique kind of grilled cheese... and I like unique!You can taste all the different layers of the flavors while your eating it.It tasted like a combination of french toast and grilled cheese. This would probably be a good recipe for a brunch.I followed the recipe exactly. I used a granny smith apple and smoked ham, but the recipe doesn't specify, so you can use whatever you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I think you definitely need to use a tart apple for this. Sometimes I use bacon in place of the ham and saute some red onion and add that to the mix. Versatile and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Not sure about the apples!! If you don't like the texture of onions, then you wont like the apples in this sandwich. Overall it was good but, my daughter especially won't eat it with the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I really liked this! It was different and good! I used green apple and didnt peel it and I used sharp cheddar. Turned out very nice, I'm sure I'll make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
So delicious! I didn't add the ham, but the combination of the cheese/apples on a grilled sandwich..yummy! Filling all on it's own or maybe a cup of soup for a heartier dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsDiaz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagle Rock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This was very good and reminds me of a sandwhich we can get at a local shop. They do ham and bree and apples on a pumperknickle bagel. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I had to give this recipe 4 stars, but with my alterations, I would rate it 5. I make this sandwich with thinly sliced, high-quality ham such as Boar's Head. I use green, pink lady, or gala apples and I never remove the peel. I then simply layer the ham, apple, and cheese on the bread (I like using bakery bread like a honey wheat), dip in egg, and grill. I would never chop the ham and add mayo - the sandwich is so delicious and so much better for you without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by althee921

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was a wonderful sandwich. Being an apple lover I am always ready to try something new. These flavors blended so well together. I think this would also be great made with chicken salad. I will make this often. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was pretty good. I tried it according to the recipe and liked it alright but it seemed bland. I added some lemon juice to keep the apples from oxidizing and to add some extra flavor and put the leftovers in the fridge for the next day. Then I tried it wrapped up in a tortilla and baked in the oven until the cheese was melted, omitting the egg dip step. Definitely better with the lemon juice and tortilla. Less fat too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States