Apple Ham Grilled Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Not Great but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This was the 1st recipe I ever tried out on allrecipes and I was not a fan. The mayo seemed to overpower the entire sandwich. Whenever I tell my husband that I am going to try a new dish he always brings up my disastrous first try at making something new because (as I put it) "but it has 4 stars!". Definitely a less than 1 star meal for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Great sandwich. Next time I would thinly slice the ham and apple instead of cubing them so that it is easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I tried out this grilled cheese not know what to expect. I mean apples with mayo? but, on the other hand, it was AMAZING! I made this grilled cheese using red apples and smoked ham with yarlsburg cheese and chibatta bread. If you want a more crispier bread, skip the milk with egg and just go with the butter. One thing that I have to remember is to cut the apple THINLY. you don't want them too thick or then they will fall out of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baker at  heart
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
MMMM MMMM GOOD! I didn't even dip it into the egg mixture. Just made it and toasted it up in the pan w/ a pat of butter like a regular grilled cheese. Everyone loved it, especially my 6 yr. old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I love these grilled cheese sandwiches. I omit the egg, and simply grill it like a regular grilled cheese, or I bake them in a 400 degree oven if I'm making them for everyone for dinner. I spread a little mayo and brown mustard on my bread and then simply layer ham, sharp cheddar and sometimes monterey jack cheese, and thinly sliced apples. They're delicious, and make a quick lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Yum! I used soy 'ham' and all-natural canola mayonnaise with granny smith apple and cheddar. This was so good. I debated the mayo, but I love the mayo I used. I would never use 'salad dressing' type spread--but real mayo is delicious on this! I think it would be great on light rye bread as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieLovinHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
We loved the recipe. The french toast was a nice idea. For a change, we like to omit the mayo, and use drained crushed pineapple in place of the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
these were just okay. good for using up spare items in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, South Dakota, USA
Living In: South Hadley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I was not pleased with how this sandwich turned out. It was a quick fix for dinner but the taste was not as great as I had anticipated. I did leave out the mayo and I added oregano so maybe if I had stuck to the original recipe they would have turned out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haylee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States