Apple Glazed Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I gave this a four-star rating instead of a five only because of the modifications I made to the recipe. Based on other reviews that I read, I omitted the onion soup mix. First, I made a seasoning mix of black pepper, garlic powder, seasoning salt and cinnamon. I rubbed this into the bone-in pork chops and seared them in olive oil. While they were browning, I mixed one cup applesauce, 1 tablespoon cinnamon, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, 3 tablespoons margarine and 1 chopped red apple (I didn't have green ones on hand). In a 9x13 pan, I poured 2 tablespoons butter mixed with 2 teaspoons minced garlic. I put the browned pork chops in the pan and poured the apple mix on top. I kept the cooking temp and time the same. These chops came out so juicy and tender, the best I have ever had. My guests were not that hungry but ate 'em up anyway!! Don't let the other mediocre reviews stop you from trying this recipe. It's a good base, just modify to your family's taste and you will have a real winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I tried this recipe after eating my wifes dried out nasty chops for some time now. It was a big hit even though she did not eat. The kids and I loved it and they dont want mom to cook anymore. The meat was tender and juicy and the sauce was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
A waste of perfectly good pork chops. I was excited about this recipe but hesitant about the onion mix. I should have followed my instinct and just prepared the dinner with the apples. The onion overpowered the mix. One bite was all it took to make us scrape the chops clean and head for the barbecue sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
The first time I made this dish, it was not a big winner in my house, the onion soup mix overpowered the apple flavor. I modified the recipe by halving the amount of soup mix to use and added a pinch of cinnamon(or use cinnamon applesauce)and 1/3 cup of brown sugar(per 4 svgs.). The result was delicious! My boys, who are the pickiest eaters absolutely loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I followed the recommendation of other reviews and the pork chops turned out fantastic! Very moist and tender. The meat was eaten off the bone! Preheated oven to 375. I browned the chops w/ a rub of some pepper, seasoned salt, and cinnamon. Used approx 1 cup apple sauce, approx 3 tbsp marg, one sliced granny apple, small amt of brown sugar and cinnamon heated in a sauce pan. Melted a couple tbls of butter and one clove minced garlic to bottom of baking pan then placed the browned chops in the pan and topped w/ the apple mixture. Cooked for approx 30-45 minutes but lowered the heat to 325-350 after about 25 minutes as I was awaiting guests. I will be making this again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I've found so many recipes, all good, on this site. Sadly, this is not one of them. I threw it out (and my husband is unemployed, so I can't afford to toss out food) sorry, not to my liking at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Easy to prepare. Very tasty. Enjoyed by all of my family. Definitely a keeper. Next time I will try it with apple cinnamin apple-sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I was really excited to make this dish .Unfortunately after making it my husband and 2 daughters wanted to lynch me!!. The applesauce wasnt even present in flavor..as per my husbands quote" Porkchops..a little seasoning..broil em..a little applesauce on the side"!!. Boring but at least tasty!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
This is very easy to make, and taste is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
tastes great,quick and easy, my husband likes it cooked longer so the apples are softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States