Apple Glazed Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
I thought this recipe was really good. I used the full onion soup packet. The only thing I added was 1/2 cup Sherry. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
The combination of the onion soup mix and applesauce sounded intriguing, but the reality was different. Definitely too much onion flavor and it didn't go very well with the sweetness of the apples. I won't be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
I was excited to try this recipe but was hesitant about the onion soup mix. I should have trusted my instinct. The onion soup mix over powered the applesauce and apple. I even tried adding some cinnamon, but it didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Definitely halve the onion mix. This wasn't my style, but it wasn't bad. I would recommend trying it out, as other people enjoyed the flavor. It is pretty cheap and easy to make. It is definitely a unique and interesting taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
it was not the kind of taste we were looking to expect. i thought it would be more sweeter than anything. it was a good experience to try something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
My husband made this the day after I had some knee surgery, and it was the best thing that I have had in the hospital in a long time. It is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I gave this a four-star rating instead of a five only because of the modifications I made to the recipe. Based on other reviews that I read, I omitted the onion soup mix. First, I made a seasoning mix of black pepper, garlic powder, seasoning salt and cinnamon. I rubbed this into the bone-in pork chops and seared them in olive oil. While they were browning, I mixed one cup applesauce, 1 tablespoon cinnamon, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, 3 tablespoons margarine and 1 chopped red apple (I didn't have green ones on hand). In a 9x13 pan, I poured 2 tablespoons butter mixed with 2 teaspoons minced garlic. I put the browned pork chops in the pan and poured the apple mix on top. I kept the cooking temp and time the same. These chops came out so juicy and tender, the best I have ever had. My guests were not that hungry but ate 'em up anyway!! Don't let the other mediocre reviews stop you from trying this recipe. It's a good base, just modify to your family's taste and you will have a real winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
What a hit! Very good and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I really enjoyed the mix of flavors, however, my wife did not. Can't please them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hubert, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
My husband says, "Other than ham, I'm not a big fan of glazed meat." I would have given it a 3, because of the unique flavor of the granny smith apples. I don't particularly care for pork chops, so this recipe made them taste much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States