Apple Fritters I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
These were really good...not too sweet. I also added cinammon to my batter and instead of slicing the apples, I chopped two apples and mixed it into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
this recipe is AWESOME! i have my husband's coworkers taking shifts to run to my house and pick up fresh batches out of the skillet as i make them, it's an event in our house now. THANK YOU PAT! my kids adore these too. if you have trouble with the batter sticking, pat the apple slices dry with a paper towel first. i like a little cinnamon in the batter too, and if you dust these with powdered sugar then drizzle with caramel topping, you will have an absolutely heavenly treat! wish i could give it six stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
YUM! YUM! YUM! I cut this easy recipe in half...except for the amount of sugar...I accidently added the amount for the full recipe, but they were yummy! I changed the recipe a little. I used Empire apples and cut them approx. 1/4 inch thick. I also added 1 cap full of vanilla extract. I used white powdered sugar to sprinkle on top. Just for the record...I didn't have a problem keeping the dough on the apples, as I have read from other people. As I dipped I fried...I tried dipping and then letting them sit...that didn't work. My husband LOVED them, and he is not one for cakes and donuts. He was eating them before I could sprinkle the sugar on them. I plan on making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
this recipe is the best. I bet 1000 people like this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Wow..What an adventure this was. I first made them according to recipe but had decided to make them and then put a brown sugar sauce over the top as several people had mentioned. This was a disaster. It made the Fritters soggy ....so I put them in the oven hoping to dry them out a bit...and basically ruined them. Those that were not ruined...were not great. I scapped the whole batch and started over..following the recipe to the letter..and the end result was a giant "so so" at best. I will continue looking for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
these came out just like the ones at our favorite apple orchard, I changed 2 things, first I used cinnamon instead of nutmeg in the batter and second I prepared a tray of cinnamon sugar to coat them in instead of powdered sugar, My kids loved them , I had to hide the so they didn't eat them all before my husband came home! one tip for those of you who had problems with them sticking: make sure tour oil is deep enough for the rings to float in it, the first ones I made stuck to the deep fryer basket, so I just lowered it and dropped them right into the oil, they floated and no more sticky mess, (except on hands but they are easily washable : )...) thanks alot for an excellent way to use up extra apples!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
This recipe was pretty good and easy to make. It fried well and the ending result was okay but it lacked flavor. I dusted it with cinnamon and powdered sugar and gave it a honey drizzle. After all that it was great. This recipe is a great base. I think it would be really good with a caramel drizzle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
I thought these were pretty good. I made a couple changes: I took some other reviewer's advice and added 1T cinnamon and I made the brown sugar sauce from this site and used it as a dipping sauce. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesusislife

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
m intolerant to wheat, so instead of using wheat flour, I used rice flour, and instead of milk I used hazelnut milk. It was great! I find that rice flour, when used in batter fries up lighter, more golden, and crunchier! Beware of sticking though! Unless you don't mind dealing with it use a non-stick pan. I will be making this recipe again. Thanks Pat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
I made these and poured brown sugar sauce over them (recipe also found on this site), and it was YUM, YUM, YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States