Apple Fritters I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
DELICIOUS! Mmmmmmm -- I used canned apple pie filling because I had no apples on hand. AWESOME results! The way to keep the batter from sticking to the basket - don't drop the batter in - lower it in. As you pour a TBL of batter (best for bite size), don't lift the spoon out right away. Let the batter form a crust and then release the rest of the fritter. THIS is what works! Thanks for a YUMMY treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.Mace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Really good, I couldnt figure out how to core the apples so I just cut them into chunks. I also added some Cinnamon, of which I will add more to next time. I think about 1 1/2 tablespoons will be good. As I fryed them I drained on a paper towel and then popped them in a casserole dish in the oven to keep them hot. Oven should only be on 200 as you dont want to cook them just keep them warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cos Cob, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
The fritters were delicious. I did have a problem getting the batter to stay on the apple slices though. One thing we did different was to add cinnamon to the icing sugar that you dipped the fritters in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
These were A big hit with the whole family I used slightly less sugar in the batter & sprinkled with the rest before serving instead of the confectioners sugar I also substituted 1 1/4 cups vanilla soymilk for the milk & cooked in a cast iron skillet these were delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I followed Gr8typist's recommendations, and this was fantastic! Also, I halved the recipe, and it was enough for 4 people. Low and slow should be your mantra while frying these. The recipe says 375, but 300-325 was hot enough. Otherwise, they get overdone on the outside and you have batter inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWARGA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This is very good and easy to make. I would recommend only doing half of the recipe to start. I used half and had 2 small apples and I still have more batter. The batter clung to the apple rings very nicely. I sprinkled with sugar/cinnamon. I did not have any powered sugar. Thanks! Just what we were looking to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
One of the worst recipes i have tried. The batter did not stick to the apples at all, even though they were peeled and slicd properly. The batter actually lid off. Would not recommend this recipe at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This is was very tasty, but I added more nutmeg and 2 tsp of cinnamon and 1 tsp of vanilla. I used another reviewer's idea and diced the apples innstead of making rings. Was messy to work with but worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This is really good fresh. If it's not fresh, it will become really soggy, so make sure you adjust the recipe proportions correctly so that you won't have too many left overs. Also, watch the amount of nutmeg you use. Slightly more than the called amount makes it a bit strong for my taste and slightly less leaves a feeling of something missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I made this with a gluten free flour mix, soy milk and "flax eggs". This makes the recipe healthier, it's great for those with allergies and it really tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States