Apple Fritters I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
My boyfriend and I love to cook so we made these together. Everyone is right on them being very bland. The batter was also too thick. We had to add more milk. We also cut back on the baking powder to just a teaspoon. Seasoned the batter with cinnamon and sugar to give it more taste. It still needs a couple of extra tweaks to make this a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Great fritter recipe. Just changed a few things. I cut up the apples into big chunks and tossed them with cinnamon sugar before adding to the batter. I also increased the amount of sugar in the batter to 1/2 cup and added a teas. of vanilla. My boyfriend went crazy for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I, too, did as others posted and diced the apples, adding them directly to the batter, and pouring out with a measuring cup. Instead of dusting with confectioner's sugar though, I made it into a glaze and coated the fritters with that. Tastes much closer to the doughnut shop fritters that way, and that's what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
my children love these they call them apple doughnuts. this is almost the same recipe my grandmother taught me, the only thing that is different is she soaked the apple slices over night in bourbon or amaretto depending on what she had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Great!! I made the apple as suggested, plus, I threw the leftovers in a homeade piping bag and squirted it into the hot oil, and made "funnel" cakes, turned out, surprisingly fandibulously delicous!! 5 stars easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarkdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This is a good recipe to start with. I doubled the nutmeg, added 2 tablespoons of cinnamon to the batter. And one tablespoon of each cinnamon & sugar to the apples (which I diced by the way), added a tablespoon of vanilla to the batter. I dumped about a 1/2 cup at time to the oil for a good size fritter & instead of sprinkling powdered sugar I added some milk to the powdered sugar to make a glazed, With these modifications this is a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
We made a wicked mess making these! And we made WAY too much, it took forever to deep fry in our small deep fryer. If we made them again we would so cut the recipe in half! We also peeled/cored/sliced/ and then diced our apple slices for the sake of using the machine, which also gave us that much more to deep fry. Probably wasn't the best thing to do on our part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I loved these. They were absolutely delicious. I added 1 tsp of cinnamon and only cooked them in 1/2" of oil. Also I didn't have a corer so I just sliced them. I had extra batter left over and made little pancakes out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Yummy! Nice hot treat on a cold (bbbbuuururururrr) winter's morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This was so easy to make and very yummy! I added 2 teaspoons of vanilla and 2 teaspoons of cinnamon to the recipe, and it was perfect! Not too sweet, either. And iInstead of confectioner's sugar, I sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar, and it added just the right amount of sweetness and flavor. Delicious! I also chopped the apples, cooked them in the microwave for 5 minutes before stirring them into the batter, and then scooped out 1/4 cup at a time to pour into the 4 cups of hot oil in a skillet. Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Burgess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States