Apple Fritters I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I, too, did as others posted and diced the apples, adding them directly to the batter, and pouring out with a measuring cup. Instead of dusting with confectioner's sugar though, I made it into a glaze and coated the fritters with that. Tastes much closer to the doughnut shop fritters that way, and that's what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
my children love these they call them apple doughnuts. this is almost the same recipe my grandmother taught me, the only thing that is different is she soaked the apple slices over night in bourbon or amaretto depending on what she had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Great!! I made the apple as suggested, plus, I threw the leftovers in a homeade piping bag and squirted it into the hot oil, and made "funnel" cakes, turned out, surprisingly fandibulously delicous!! 5 stars easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarkdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This is a good recipe to start with. I doubled the nutmeg, added 2 tablespoons of cinnamon to the batter. And one tablespoon of each cinnamon & sugar to the apples (which I diced by the way), added a tablespoon of vanilla to the batter. I dumped about a 1/2 cup at time to the oil for a good size fritter & instead of sprinkling powdered sugar I added some milk to the powdered sugar to make a glazed, With these modifications this is a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
We made a wicked mess making these! And we made WAY too much, it took forever to deep fry in our small deep fryer. If we made them again we would so cut the recipe in half! We also peeled/cored/sliced/ and then diced our apple slices for the sake of using the machine, which also gave us that much more to deep fry. Probably wasn't the best thing to do on our part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I loved these. They were absolutely delicious. I added 1 tsp of cinnamon and only cooked them in 1/2" of oil. Also I didn't have a corer so I just sliced them. I had extra batter left over and made little pancakes out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Yummy! Nice hot treat on a cold (bbbbuuururururrr) winter's morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This was so easy to make and very yummy! I added 2 teaspoons of vanilla and 2 teaspoons of cinnamon to the recipe, and it was perfect! Not too sweet, either. And iInstead of confectioner's sugar, I sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar, and it added just the right amount of sweetness and flavor. Delicious! I also chopped the apples, cooked them in the microwave for 5 minutes before stirring them into the batter, and then scooped out 1/4 cup at a time to pour into the 4 cups of hot oil in a skillet. Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I tried the suggestion of cooking the diced apples in the micowavefor 4 mins. I increased the sugar to 1/3 C and added more cinnamon (1 heaping t), a dash of pumpkin pie spice. I fried these up for my husband and he LOVED them. I feel like I need to play with the spice ratio a bit more to give it a 5 but a very strong 4 recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOTQUITEMARTHA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
DELICIOUS! Mmmmmmm -- I used canned apple pie filling because I had no apples on hand. AWESOME results! The way to keep the batter from sticking to the basket - don't drop the batter in - lower it in. As you pour a TBL of batter (best for bite size), don't lift the spoon out right away. Let the batter form a crust and then release the rest of the fritter. THIS is what works! Thanks for a YUMMY treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.Mace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States