Apple Fritters I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
These were excellent after I tweaked the recipe a little (since others said it was bland). I doubled the amount of nutmeg and added the same amount of cinnamon. I then added 2 teaspoons of vanilla and doubled up on the sugar as well. I chopped up the apples instead of slices, to have a more "fritter" feel to them. I also ended up adding a little more milk to the batter because they were coming out raw inside. Once I did this they cooked all the way through very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
this recipe is AWESOME! i have my husband's coworkers taking shifts to run to my house and pick up fresh batches out of the skillet as i make them, it's an event in our house now. THANK YOU PAT! my kids adore these too. if you have trouble with the batter sticking, pat the apple slices dry with a paper towel first. i like a little cinnamon in the batter too, and if you dust these with powdered sugar then drizzle with caramel topping, you will have an absolutely heavenly treat! wish i could give it six stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Made these tonight for the family and everyone loved them. I added cinnamon to the batter & diced the apples. I put the diced apples in the microwave for 4 minutes to soften them up a bit, then added the cooked down apples & liquid to the batter. It was a perfect consistancy. Dropped them into the oil using 1/4 measuring cup. this made a good sized fritter. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNELYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
Well... put me, my frydaddy, my 4 old, and my 2 year old against this recipe and we all came out alive, that says alot. It was really easy, but took a while with my smaller frydaddy (only 3 dnuts at a time). Other than that it's a wonderful recipe, kids love it! Thanks Pat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millington, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Thonotosassa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I used Granny Smith apples and they didn't come out very sweet. They were still very tart. If I try it again I may use different type of apples. I also thought the batter didn't stick very well to the apples. I followed the recipe directly and the batter was very thick and sticky (to my fingers, not the apples).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
I didn't like this recipe at all.I thought the fritters were too greasy and the apples went mushy inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
Great and so easy! I made these especially for my husband and friends, but even I loved them and I'm not an apple fan. They were gone in a flash. These would be great for fall. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
These were great. I'm sending an ice-cream pail full with my husband to work tomorrow...that's assuming he doesn't eat them all first!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
Wow, this recipe was so delicious! I was amazed how easy and quick they were to make!! I did not have confectioners sugar, so I used a mixture of white sugar and cinnamon to dust the fritters. They turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icesx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
The fritters turned out tasting delicious! They took a little while to make, but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States