Apple Fritters I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Did not like this recipe, very bland, a waste of perfectly good apples, you may be able to play around with the recipe some, find some combination that works, but who has the time. I just fried up the apple plain and sprinkled it with some sugar and spice and ate it like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Fried apple fritters, good, but as others said, the batter was kind of tasteless. I even added cinnamon & nutmeg to the batter after reading others comments. It really didn't help. Perhaps adding sugar & cinnamon to the apples THEN dip in the batter, might work? I'll try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
My kids and I made this recipe and it was so easy, not only was it easy but we had no problem with the batter sticking like some others had stated, perhaps they did not follow directions as stated. We used the exact recipe and it was wonderful, will definitely make again! I have a bowl left over I will prob nuke them for a couple of seconds and they should be good as new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
These were really good...not too sweet. I also added cinammon to my batter and instead of slicing the apples, I chopped two apples and mixed it into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
this recipe is AWESOME! i have my husband's coworkers taking shifts to run to my house and pick up fresh batches out of the skillet as i make them, it's an event in our house now. THANK YOU PAT! my kids adore these too. if you have trouble with the batter sticking, pat the apple slices dry with a paper towel first. i like a little cinnamon in the batter too, and if you dust these with powdered sugar then drizzle with caramel topping, you will have an absolutely heavenly treat! wish i could give it six stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
YUM! YUM! YUM! I cut this easy recipe in half...except for the amount of sugar...I accidently added the amount for the full recipe, but they were yummy! I changed the recipe a little. I used Empire apples and cut them approx. 1/4 inch thick. I also added 1 cap full of vanilla extract. I used white powdered sugar to sprinkle on top. Just for the record...I didn't have a problem keeping the dough on the apples, as I have read from other people. As I dipped I fried...I tried dipping and then letting them sit...that didn't work. My husband LOVED them, and he is not one for cakes and donuts. He was eating them before I could sprinkle the sugar on them. I plan on making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
this recipe is the best. I bet 1000 people like this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Wow..What an adventure this was. I first made them according to recipe but had decided to make them and then put a brown sugar sauce over the top as several people had mentioned. This was a disaster. It made the Fritters soggy ....so I put them in the oven hoping to dry them out a bit...and basically ruined them. Those that were not ruined...were not great. I scapped the whole batch and started over..following the recipe to the letter..and the end result was a giant "so so" at best. I will continue looking for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
these came out just like the ones at our favorite apple orchard, I changed 2 things, first I used cinnamon instead of nutmeg in the batter and second I prepared a tray of cinnamon sugar to coat them in instead of powdered sugar, My kids loved them , I had to hide the so they didn't eat them all before my husband came home! one tip for those of you who had problems with them sticking: make sure tour oil is deep enough for the rings to float in it, the first ones I made stuck to the deep fryer basket, so I just lowered it and dropped them right into the oil, they floated and no more sticky mess, (except on hands but they are easily washable : )...) thanks alot for an excellent way to use up extra apples!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
This recipe was pretty good and easy to make. It fried well and the ending result was okay but it lacked flavor. I dusted it with cinnamon and powdered sugar and gave it a honey drizzle. After all that it was great. This recipe is a great base. I think it would be really good with a caramel drizzle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States