Apple Flavored Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This was very easy to prepare and the result is delicious! A nice variation from the traditional pot roast flavor. Even my picky teenager liked it. I used Yukon Gold potatoes and also added a few small quartered onions with the vegetables. The meat was very tender, juicy and flavorful; it was good served with the broth, or you can thicken the broth with cornstarch or flour to make a gravy (as picky teenager did).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
To make this easier on myself, I made this in the slow cooker by putting the meat and gravy mixture on high for four hours, then I added the carrots and potatoes and cooked for two more hours (still on high). The meat was nice and tender and the sweetness from the apple juice cut through the saltiness of the soy and onion soup mix. My husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
My kids loved this pot roast! Which is a great things because they are picky eaters. I did a few things differently, though. Instead of cooking it in the oven, I cooked it in a Crock Pot for 6 hours and omitted the veggies. Then when it was finished I put it in a baking pan, poured half of the broth on it and used the remaining broth for gravy. It was tender, juicy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrissa Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Really nicely flavored, the sweet of the apple and the salt of the soy balance well. Very tender and not dry at all. I forgot to buy the concentrate (it was even on my list and I just skipped over it!), so I used two of my daughter's 100% apple juice juice boxes. I omitted the water. This still worked! It is a great alternative to the traditional, very salty pot roasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
SO,SO Delicious! Not too sweet, Not too salty, I would say pretty darn perfect. Very moist! No knives needed! I did add a bay leaf and added more garlic(we are garlic freaks in our house!). A hit in the Elliott house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skmge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This roast was very flavorful. I omitted the potatoes and added 2 coursely chopped onions.I also omitted the apple juice and added a sliced apple and 3 ribs of chopped celery about 1 hour before it was done.I also used 4 cups of beef broth and 1 packet of beef/onion dry soup mix along with the dry onion soup mix.It was very,very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Toledo, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Sorry I hate to post a bad review, but this was not good!! I put it on was so excited to have a homecooked meal ready after picking up my husband from being out of town. We get home and serve it and it was to apple tasting. I followed the directions exactly as writen. Whenever you took a bite of the potato and carrot it was sour tasting. Yes, the roast was tender, but did not have good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I was disappointed with how this roast turned out. I found the apple to be much too sweet. Maybe using half a can of the apple juice concentrate would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ambridge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Maybe I did something wrong, but I didn't taste any apple in this roast. It just tasted like soy sauce and onion soup mix. The cooking time was really off, too, my roast (which was the same size called for in the recipe) was done after two hours, so I didn't even get to put the vegetables in. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was really good! I didn't have concentrated apple juice so used what I had, apple cider, and was wonderful. 1 warning though, I used a 1lb roast so expected it to cook faster but it was done in less than 2 hours so you might want to check it more often to avoid over cooking. Update...I made this with a pork roast and it was even better! BTW I cooked this both times in my slow cooker. I have the kind that takes 1/2 the time as the usual ones. and they were done in only 2 hours. I cooked a little longer only to make it more tender. Try this with a pork roast thoughas it truly is amazing, more than 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States