Apple Flavored Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I loved this. I used apple juice instead of concentrate + water and chopped onion instead of the mix. I can see how it might be too sweet for some, but I really liked the flavor combination. I might add a little spice next time (red pepper?) to balance the sweetness a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Amazing!! I have never made pot roast before, but my Grandma makes the best pot roast and I have to say this is just as good, if not better! My husband loved it at first but as he was eating he said it was a little too sweet and next time I should use half a can of apple juice instead of the whole can. I still think it's DELICIOUS, I am eating the leftovers at this very moment! I did everything exactly as the recipe says except I cooked for 8 hours on low in my slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
To make this easier on myself, I made this in the slow cooker by putting the meat and gravy mixture on high for four hours, then I added the carrots and potatoes and cooked for two more hours (still on high). The meat was nice and tender and the sweetness from the apple juice cut through the saltiness of the soy and onion soup mix. My husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Absolutely Yummy! Replaced the dried onion mix with 1 finely chopped onion. Superb! will be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This was good. My husband thought it too sweet, but I didn't. Only put the carrots in, and rubbed the netted rump roast with the soy sauce. Could not taste the soy at all. stuck garlic in the netting, will cut pockets the next time as flavor was very subtle. Great for a cold fall night! Made the house smell wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was AWESOME! I think it may just be my new roast recipe. I did not make any changes, which is unusual. I did however, cook it in my slow cooker on low for 8 hours. Next, I am going to have to try the stew reccommended by another user. I love recipes that are 2 in 1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Excellent recipe!!! This is one of our family's favorites and I love how it makes the whole house smell great all day. I follow the recipe with a few exceptions: I add carrots and celery to the pot roast. Then I make red-skinned mashed potatoes on the side and use the left over liquid from the pot roast to make gravy. Thanks Christine for a wonderful recipe! The leftover meat and gravy (if you have any) is a great substitute for the meat and broth in the Beef Stew and Dumplings recipe from this site. Makes another delicious meal without as much work as starting from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
It came out amazing and wouldn't hesitate to use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
SO,SO Delicious! Not too sweet, Not too salty, I would say pretty darn perfect. Very moist! No knives needed! I did add a bay leaf and added more garlic(we are garlic freaks in our house!). A hit in the Elliott house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skmge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Best roast I've ever cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James
Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States