Apple Flavored Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
We were able to do this recipe in the crock pot / slow cooker...instead of a 1/2 inch of water i did an inch of water just to ensure the meat wouldn't dry out...also i ended up cooking it on high the entire time for an extra half an hour [4 1/2 hours]...i added the vegetables around the two hour mark...not going to lie we were very skeptical about the apple juice concentrate but it turned out to be super delicious and flavorful! the meat was perfectly tender! We will be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dumbee cooks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cloquet, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I have never made pot roast myself because everyone else's, whether at someone's home or at a restaraunt, I never liked it. But chuck roast was on sale at the grocery store and I came across this recipe. I was skeptical but tried it out. I followed the recipe but used regular apple juice rather than concentrate. It was SOOO good. The meat so tender and flavorful. My husband couldn't get enough. Usually we have left overs to give neighbors/friends...but not with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I went a little crazy with the soy sauce & garlic so I was afraid it would be too salty. Not to mention the onion mix was like pure flavored salt. I bought a cheap apple concentrate- which made me doubt my creation as well. It turned out perfect. I honestly hate roasts. This was perfect for me. Not crazy BEEF flavor, a nice refreshing taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThisPartBlank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by babigi
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
soooo..yummy and tender...followed recipe exactly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babigi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Sorry I hate to post a bad review, but this was not good!! I put it on was so excited to have a homecooked meal ready after picking up my husband from being out of town. We get home and serve it and it was to apple tasting. I followed the directions exactly as writen. Whenever you took a bite of the potato and carrot it was sour tasting. Yes, the roast was tender, but did not have good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
My husband gave this a 9.5 out of 10! So easy and so good. I added more garlic and chopped onions and used a cup or two of apple juice instead of the concentrate (helped reduce the sweetness). Made mashed potatoes and gravy with the juice. Delicious and so easy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
this is a staple in my house. i was known as the family member who couldnt cook and this has redeemed me. thank you! my husband even brags about it! i LOVE this recipe! i even add to it and it evolves as time goes on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xcarminaburanax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Awesome!!!! I made this for dinner tonight and it was very tasty. My husband enjoys things more savory, so it wasn't his favorite- but he did go back for seconds. My kids and I loved it. Five stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Great flavor, cooked for two hours at 350 for medium rare. very tender! I added more soy sauce to balance the sweetness of the apple juice and it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meepandsnooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was really good! I didn't have concentrated apple juice so used what I had, apple cider, and was wonderful. 1 warning though, I used a 1lb roast so expected it to cook faster but it was done in less than 2 hours so you might want to check it more often to avoid over cooking. Update...I made this with a pork roast and it was even better! BTW I cooked this both times in my slow cooker. I have the kind that takes 1/2 the time as the usual ones. and they were done in only 2 hours. I cooked a little longer only to make it more tender. Try this with a pork roast thoughas it truly is amazing, more than 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States