Apple Filled Chicken in Pecan Creme Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
The egg yolk sauce belongs on a dessert...not a savory chicken dish. The cheese got lost in all the shallots and apples. I only ate a few bites and then I had to stop...way too sweet! Definitely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I liked the cheese and apples inside the chicken better than the chicken...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
The sauce was way way to sweet and the stuffing was lost in all the sweetness. I used this as a valentine dinner so the sweetness played out ok, I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I substituted some onion for the shallots and swiss cheese for the provolone (because that's all I had available in the kitchen). After reading other comments, I decided to pull back on the sweetness by reducing the sugar to 2 Tbs and the vanilla to just over 1/4 tsp. I also added a splash of milk to thin the sauce out so that it wasn't too custard-like. The result was phenomenal! I will definitely make this recipe again... what a different way to prepare chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
My kids (7 and 11) LOVED this one! It is really sweet, but delicious. Its like having dessert for dinner! If you don't have a sweet tooth like us, I too would suggest cutting back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Good, but too sweet as written. Next time will cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I really liked this recipe. We didn't have white wine, so I subsituted apple juice, and my husband missed my note to reduce the sugar, so the sauce was definitely sweet, but still quite good. I think with the wine, and a little less sugar this would be great. Too much work to put it in my regular rotation, but a great every-now-and-then, special occasion recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This was excellent! Husband and three-year old daughter loved it! Didn't have provolone, used Baby Friulano...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Don't get me wrong, this is a good recipe. It's just that the sauce is so powerfully sweet that it overwelms the rest of the flavors. My guests did rave that it was an excellent meal. I used Gouda cheese; which is stronger than provolone, but it still needs something stronger. I'm thinking next time I'll use Blue Cheese and tart apples to try and even out the sweetness of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Credit River Township, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Savage, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Despite other reviews, I thought this recipe turned out really well. I did lower the sugar content, and although everyone said that it was too sweet, I somewhat expected that to begin with because of the ingredients. I only had cream cheese so I used that instead of provolone and poured the sauce over the chicken for the last 10 minutes of cooking and sprinkled the nuts on top of that. It carmelized nicely and was a great mix of flavors and textures. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States