Apple Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I used whole wheat tortillas, and the end result was nice and chewy (not tough, as other reviewers have said). The sweetness of the apples and sauce was well-balanced by the nutty flavor of the wheat torillas. Also, I made my own apple pie filling, using about 4 cups of thinly sliced apples, about 2/3c. white sugar, 2Tbsp. flour, a little water, and cinnamon and nutmeg to taste. Bring to a boil, then lower heat and simmer until apples soften (about 5 minutes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This is the best desert I've ever made. Instead of canned pie filling I used fresh diced apples, sprinkled with cinnamon and a couple tablespoons of apple butter, and then softened in the microwave for a few minutes. I loved them so much I made them with bananas and chocolate chips also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
My Husband Made this for a football potluck and added cream cheese and sprinkled powder suger over them and they were a hit..I loved them we all Loved them great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
Wonderful Recipe....easily 5 stars!! Whole family loved it more than most apple pie. Hubby said tortillas were better than pie crust, which he has never been fond. I did spread tortillas with 8oz softened cream cheese and added 1 tsp vanilla to the sauce....divine!! It's in our permanent collection! Thanks Brenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schafer5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
You can't miss with this easy and delicious recipe. Even my meat-and-potatoes-only teenage son, "the no-dessert-thanks-Mom" guy loved these. And I appreciated how quick and easy they were to make! I made a huge batch for a family gathering and they were really a hit. Next time I think I'll take a suggestion from my sister-in-law and toss in some walnuts and golden raisins. And I'm sure there will be many more next times to try different variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
Yuk! I tried this recipe just the way it is written and the tortillas were really tough. Next, I tried it with uncooked tortillas and, although they weren't tough, it just didn't taste very good. I give up. I won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
These were so delicious. I took them to a fellowship dinner and the entire plate (doubled) was gone! And I was asked for the recipe several times. They remind me exactly of apple dumplings and so much easier to make then the recipe I have used for years! Tastes great with cream as well as ice cream. :) (I used 6 in. tortillas) Yum! I cant believe how easy, inexpensive, fast, and delicious this is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
My husband and I love this recipe! It couldn't be any simpler or quick. Bring your favorite side of ice cream to the table with this recipe and you won't be disappointed! Get's better after a few days even... we eat it up in about 3 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
I absolutely love this dessert! It is fabulous and so easy to make. I put in 1/3 cup of margarine instead of 1/2 cup butter, but otherwise no changes. EXCELLENT DISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aloha, Oregon, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
These were excellent. I make them often after cooking homemade tacos and they always hit the spot. Serve with vanilla bean ice cream! mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States