Apple Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
mine were a bit soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joy-of-jesus-smileymom
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
The kind of tortilla, as well as cooking time, makes all the difference! I have now made these several times to rave reviews. there are different thicknesses of tortillas depending on brand. Textures vary also: some brands are tough and gummy due to all the dough conditioners and additives (read the label!). This, as well as the brand of pie filling, may account for the varied results (don't skimp--make or buy a quality filling that says "more fruit" if you can). I have been using thicker tortillas, but am curious how thinner ones would work. I like these best with ALL (light) brown sugar. Don't overcrowd in pan--a 9 x 13 GREASED or lined pan is great--the more exposed surface area, the crunchier it gets. I also cooked about FORTY minutes, until it looked browned. Note *** When making in advance, it is best to keep the sauce separate from the filled enchiladas until 30 minutes before baking. I let one batch sit way too long and the cooked tortillas were tough. 9/20/10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was gross. I was embarrassed that I made it in the first place. The tortillas turned doughy and the apple pie filling was mushy!! I know it got rave reviews, I just didn't care for it - if the flavor was wonderful I might be a little more forgiving - but it wasn't - AND it was ugly! :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I grew up baking everything from scratch with my grandmother. I take such pride in my baking skills... I have to say that I was totally blown away by this ultra simple yet SCRUMPTIOUS recipe. It is wonderful hot with a scoop of vanilla ice cream but almost better from the fridge the next day! A+++++ in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This is a nice ending for a mexican themed meal! I prepared this before we sat down to eat, popped it in the oven, when dinner was finished, dessert was warm and waiting! Went well with a little ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Yummy and easy to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
OHHHH this is my favorite dessert recipe I've tried from this site!!! I used it instead of the other because it calls for real butter not margarine and I also didn't use canned pie filling I made apple pie filling (also from this site) which is awesome!! I did bake it for 30 min not 20 and used a little cinnamon cream cheese in a couple of them which was also tasty. Definetly a great tasting dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This was very good. I served them with vanilla ice cream. I think next time I will try adding cream cheese as others suggested. Thanks Reeses30135
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Beaverhousen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Delicious, easy and cheap to make. I used thinly sliced granny apples instead of the pie filling and did not need to precook them. Don't forget the vanilla bean ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Today my kindergartener's class was celebrating Johnny Appleseed's birthday, and I was supposed to send something "apple" in to the class. The ONLY apple anything I had was a can of apple pie filling. I needed something quick, easy, and kid-friendly to make with ingredients I had on hand. Voila! In comes apple enchiladas. The class was happy, my son was happy with me, and I am happy with allrecipes.com, who saved me again! Thanks for a yummy, easy, apply, kid-friendly dessert. I didn't have any whipped cream or ice cream on hand, but these were great just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albin, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States