Apple Enchilada Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Wamer-Mercer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I would love to make these but because of Celiac I could not use flour tortillas. Has anyone tried it with corn tortillas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was WONDERFUL! I used fresh apples - sliced and sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar, and added @1Tbsp butter - i then microwaved until desired tenderness. I then followed the advise of other reviewers and added cornstarch and powdered sugar. For the topping I followed the directions. They turned out golden brown. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I took different comments from each reviewer and created the best recipe. I used the cream cheese with the powdered sugar. I cut both sugars and water to 1/3. I used a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla in the caramel mixture and I added nutmeg and Cinnamin to the apple mixture. Most reviewers said that they wanted a crisp texture. I got it!! I took the cream mixture an the apple filling and placed it into the 6in wraps. I used a baking rack that I placed into a pan just in case the apple filing came out. I based the tortillas with olive oil and I also lined the pan with non stick foil. I placed the tortillas in the oven until they got to the crisp texture that I was looking for (may have been around 15-20 min). Once removed from the oven, I placed the tortillas into the pan onto the non stick foil. I took the caramel sauce and drizzled around 2 to 3 spoonfuls onto each one and placed back into the oven for another 10 mins. I used the filing that came out onto the foil and placed it on top along with more drizzle of caramel sauce and added extra creamy vanilla ice cream. I also added a pinch of cornstarch and also used less butter than what it called for. I also added some caramel sauce that is used for dipping apples. This came out perfect!! Crisp and the sauce was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Did not like this much. I did not like the combination of the flour tortilla. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Since we have peaches to use right now I wanted to try something different. Changes I made: I used 5 fresh peaches that were peeled, pitted and thinly sliced, cooked them with about a tblsp sugar and 1/4 cup water until soft. Then I added cornstarch/water mix (about 2 tbsp each) until it was thick. I spooned that over the tortillas and followed the recipe from there. I did have to bake it longer so they would crisp up; total 35 minutes. Very good served with vanilla bean ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I have made these twice now. What a hit they are so easy and delicious. I did use cream cheese in them like others suggested and did double the pie filling. we go camping and I just put them on the grill instead of the oven, let the tortillas crisp up a little YUMMY...thanks for a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I made these yesterday for a reception at my church but added a thin layer of pre-made vanilla pudding to the tortilla before putting apple pie filling on and then sprinkled some sugar/cinnamon on top before rolling. I drizzled with some caramel ice cream sauce and then baked and then drizzled again with some left-over cream cheese icing. I got rave reviews!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
i could not get my tortillas to crisp up even after baking for longer than the 20 minutes. Left in about 35-40 minutes and the tortillas were still somewhat pale and not golden like i expected. was hoping for a crunch and that certainly did not happen..filling was good. Room for improvement i would say. Maybe someone can give me some tips if they encountered the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This is so good! I had some leftover "buttermilk syrup" recipe that I had made for pancakes earlier in the week which I used inside the tortillas with my own pie fillling. I baked these sprayed with pam & sprinkled with cinnamon sugar to crunch them up first then poured the rest of the caramel mixture over when they came out of the oven! I loved the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States