Apple Enchilada Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I would love to make these but because of Celiac I could not use flour tortillas. Has anyone tried it with corn tortillas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was WONDERFUL! I used fresh apples - sliced and sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar, and added @1Tbsp butter - i then microwaved until desired tenderness. I then followed the advise of other reviewers and added cornstarch and powdered sugar. For the topping I followed the directions. They turned out golden brown. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I took different comments from each reviewer and created the best recipe. I used the cream cheese with the powdered sugar. I cut both sugars and water to 1/3. I used a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla in the caramel mixture and I added nutmeg and Cinnamin to the apple mixture. Most reviewers said that they wanted a crisp texture. I got it!! I took the cream mixture an the apple filling and placed it into the 6in wraps. I used a baking rack that I placed into a pan just in case the apple filing came out. I based the tortillas with olive oil and I also lined the pan with non stick foil. I placed the tortillas in the oven until they got to the crisp texture that I was looking for (may have been around 15-20 min). Once removed from the oven, I placed the tortillas into the pan onto the non stick foil. I took the caramel sauce and drizzled around 2 to 3 spoonfuls onto each one and placed back into the oven for another 10 mins. I used the filing that came out onto the foil and placed it on top along with more drizzle of caramel sauce and added extra creamy vanilla ice cream. I also added a pinch of cornstarch and also used less butter than what it called for. I also added some caramel sauce that is used for dipping apples. This came out perfect!! Crisp and the sauce was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Did not like this much. I did not like the combination of the flour tortilla. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Since we have peaches to use right now I wanted to try something different. Changes I made: I used 5 fresh peaches that were peeled, pitted and thinly sliced, cooked them with about a tblsp sugar and 1/4 cup water until soft. Then I added cornstarch/water mix (about 2 tbsp each) until it was thick. I spooned that over the tortillas and followed the recipe from there. I did have to bake it longer so they would crisp up; total 35 minutes. Very good served with vanilla bean ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I have made these twice now. What a hit they are so easy and delicious. I did use cream cheese in them like others suggested and did double the pie filling. we go camping and I just put them on the grill instead of the oven, let the tortillas crisp up a little YUMMY...thanks for a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I made these yesterday for a reception at my church but added a thin layer of pre-made vanilla pudding to the tortilla before putting apple pie filling on and then sprinkled some sugar/cinnamon on top before rolling. I drizzled with some caramel ice cream sauce and then baked and then drizzled again with some left-over cream cheese icing. I got rave reviews!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
i could not get my tortillas to crisp up even after baking for longer than the 20 minutes. Left in about 35-40 minutes and the tortillas were still somewhat pale and not golden like i expected. was hoping for a crunch and that certainly did not happen..filling was good. Room for improvement i would say. Maybe someone can give me some tips if they encountered the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This is so good! I had some leftover "buttermilk syrup" recipe that I had made for pancakes earlier in the week which I used inside the tortillas with my own pie fillling. I baked these sprayed with pam & sprinkled with cinnamon sugar to crunch them up first then poured the rest of the caramel mixture over when they came out of the oven! I loved the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This dessert is wonderfully easy to put together and SO delicious. Definitely a keeper. The only change I made was adding the cream cheese as some others have done. Thanks for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 588) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States