Apple Enchilada Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I made this recipe last night for a girls dinner. It was by far the easiest recipe dessert I've ever made. I followed the directions, only change I made was I used 3 10 inch tortillas in a 8x8 baking dish. I would also recommend cooking a little longer, maybe 25 minutes. Overall very yummy! Be sure to serve with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Pretty good. I used some of the suggestions though and next time I will just do as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was a huge crowd pleaser! A little too sweet I'd cut the sugar a little bit but aside from that it was awesome. Cut the sugar and it's a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This is just lovely. I took others recommendations & made the sauce with 1/3 C. each of the brown & white sugar, and reduced the amount of water to 1/3 C. and added 1/2 t. vanilla (you really want to do this it it makes the sauce taste even more carmel-esque). Like others, I also mixed 8 oz. of cream cheese w/ 1/4 C powdered sugar and spread that onto the tortillas prior to adding the apple mixture. I added 1T.very soft butter and 1/2 t. nutmeg as well as the 1t. cinnamon directly to the apple mixture. I also tried this with peaches...I did everything the same except I added 1t. ground ginger (the bottle type you keep in the fridge) to the sauce. It was wonderful. Thanx for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReddGypsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Very good!! I will be making this again very soon for my family =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayas1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
THESE ARE AWESOME!!!!! I invited my parents over for a Mexican-themed dinner last night & needed a dessert to go w/ it. I have been eyeing this recipe for some time now (it was featured in a magazine I picked up at my local grocer a few yrs. ago; one of the "I have no time 2 cook during the holiday's" meal idea articles in it suggested an easy-fix menu - white chili, guac & this dessert). After seeing this recipe, I knew I HAD to try it - and this did not disappoint!!! I usually read the reviews for any recipe I'm planning to try, but ran out of time, so I didn't. I really wish I would have. Don't get me wrong, these were great. I just think they could have been 5 *'s, had I tried the most helpful reviewer's sugg. for improvement (I will next time!). Here are the comments I feel are CRITICAL: a) use 1/3 c. H2O (it seems like this amt. does the trick, otherwise, you'll end up w/ a thin sauce like I did... ), b) coarsely chop your pie filling mixture (personal preference after having not done so), c) bake for dbl. the amt. of time called for to get a "crisp" text. (mine were slightly crisp, verging on soggy), d) save some of your pie filling as topping, & e) personally, I think using 6 in. tortillas would have worked better than the 8 in. ones (if you can find them); otherwise, cut these in 1/2. Served w/ a scoop of Starbuck's caramel macchiato ice cream & warm coffee. All I can say is WOW! Thanks SOOO much for sharing, ReDonna. You made me look like rock star once again! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I was very eager to try this recipe and I was NOT disappointed! It was sooooo yummy! I made 5 with apple pie filling and cinnamon and 5 with cherry pie filling and cream cheese filling (4oz cream cheese and 1/4 cup sugar). They were to die for! I doubled the glaze/syrup since I doubled the recipe and that was not needed. Everything still fit in a 13x9 so I only ended up using half of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracieT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I made this recipe this past weekend for a girls' get together & it was a big hit! It was so easy to make & delicious. I did as the other reviewers said and added the cream cheese mixture. I didn't really follow any particular recipe for it, just did it to taste. Mixed cream cheese, sugar & cinnamon together and spread it on the tortilla before adding the apples. I made the Enchiladas & sauce up ahead of time and then reheated the sauce, topped them and baked when I got there. This is a recipe you can't screw up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
didn't really taste that great and the tortillas came out rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyOfMarine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I made it exact, but I didn't think it was too special. It was a little too sweet, and I'm not used to the unnatural flavor of canned pie filling. It's definitely edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 101-110 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States