Apple Dumplings with Rich Cinnamon Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
The best word I can use to describe these are amazing. They were semi easy to make but yet them taste and look like something you would spend all day on or buy for dessert at an expensive restaurant.. Thank you for sharing this recipe this one is a keeper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Great recipe. Definitely use small apples though, wrapping them was a bit difficult. Not impossible, just difficult. I sliced mine in half horizontally instead of vertically which made them stand up nice and straight with no problem. Also gave me a nice well to put filling in without any fuss. I used pecans instead of walnuts, then toasted some peacans to add to my sauce - just because I like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
To quote my son, "I've died and gone to Heaven!" These were fabulous!! We really loved them! The sauce was just the right touch and with a scoop of ice cream.....WOW!! I ended up brushing them with a beaten WHOLE egg instead of egg white. I forgot to take out the yolk and it didn't make that much of a difference. Other than that, I followed it exactly, which is really rare for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Wow! Easy & delicious. Have made this with many different types of apples & tart apples work best with the sweetness of the sauce. Give this a try, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUCKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Sorry, I did not like this recipe. It was more of a pain than other recipes I have used. The cornstarch in the sauce made the sauce gluggy. I prefer recipes that produce a sauce in the cooking pan while the apples cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Made them with crescent rolls, Granny Smith apples and got rave reviews for Thanksgiving. This will be a standard & will take over apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Noel
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Very delish. Followed recipe to the "T". Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Noel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Perfect in every way. They look gorgeous plated and taste exceptional. I particularly love the way the sauce compliments the dumplings. The sugared crust is so attractive. I used Cortland apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
These were so yummy! I made them last night for my small group and one of my friends who is a health-obsessed dr. actually ate one and was licking his plate by the time he was done, lol! I did make a few changes: Okay-here are the things I changed for the recipe-I doubled it to make 16 servings (8 apples), I used the big ones you buy in bulk but if you bought the smaller ones I think you could probably use a whole apple for this-I used granny smith. Also, I cut them in half horizontally then cored then and stuffed the filling inside that way-it was really easy and I didn't have to cut anything off the bottom because I just laid them on their flat sides. I put them on the crust and then I stuffed them so as not to make a huge mess trying to get them onto the crust. I doubled the filling and it used every bit so you could even do more and just pile it in the crust for more of that part-which was the best part, I thought! I made my own crust-way better in my opinion. Also we used 350-I had taken them to my friends house and wanted them to be hot so I baked them there but left the recipe at home so I wasn't sure on the temperature-I did the 425 for 10 minutes and then 350 for 20 minutes- but I thought they were done enough-I had eight of them on a pampered chef stone and 8 on a metal air bake cookie sheet. The ones on the stone turned out even better so I would probably use that again or if you used a metal dish or baking sheet, maybe reduce the cooking time. The ones on the met
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaEpsteen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States