Apple Dumplings with Rich Cinnamon Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Good recipe. I used this in my Foods 1 class and my students really enjoyed them. It was difficult to wrap the apples. My students were thinking though they decided to cut their apples up. I had them make the pastry from scratch so that was also a factor. I will definitely use this again in my class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murphysboro, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Yummy! used light brown sugar but still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Excellent recipe. I used my standard pie crust recipe and granny smith apples and it turned out great. The sauce is incredible and I hope others do not miss out on enjoying this amazingly easy sauce. I love apple pie, but this beats it. It also reheats well the next day in the microwave for about a minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
These were great, made according to recipe.Next time I may add a little vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I'm making these now, and as I peeked in the oven to check on them, a few of the dumpling's filling spilled out onto the pan. I'm sure it will be a messy goodness, but not what I expected. I followed the recipe exactly, sealing with egg white, and the mess is spilling from the bottom. I don't know what would be the cause, but maybe when I try again it will be all in one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantallywallywoohoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA
Living In: Randleman, North Carolina, USA
Photo by autumnrose
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was the easiest apple dumpling recipe I have ever tried.I didn't change anything in the recipe except it was hot and we were short on time so I used Hershey's caramel syrup instead of standing over the hot saucepan to make my own.It was great as it was so I can't wait to try it with the homemade sauce.I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estherville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This was pretty easy to make even though it looks like it would take you hours. I ran into the same problem as SunnyByrd, I struggled to fit my apples on my pastry dough so I was forced to wrap them a little tighter than I would have wanted to. Mine blew open a little bit while they were baking but nothing major. My kids helped make these with me , so it's kid friendly. I peeled the apples and they stuffed them. I didn't cut the bottoms and they did waddle a little bit. Next time I'll cut the bottoms so that they sit better and I will use 3 apple halves to 1 sheet of pie crust pastry so that they aren't so tightly wrapped. I used Granny Smith apples and I'm so glad I did. They held up really well and the tartness of the apples countered any of the super sweetness of this yummy dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Very easy to throw together. Made according to the instructions and came out wonderfully. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Very good! I think the dough/apple ratio is a little off in this recipe. One pie crust BARELY did four apple halves at my house. Also, be sure not to wrap your apples too tightly (like I did) because the apples will blow a little when they cook. The cinnamon sauce was perfect for me, not too icky-sweet. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This was really good, but it was a lot of work and the end result didn't WOW me like I would have hoped for the effort. Don't get me wrong, it was yummy, but if I'm going to make such a mess for a recipe, my expectations get WAY up there, and this just didn't make me wanna get up and dance or anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States