Apple Dumplings with Rich Cinnamon Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Perfect apple dumpling! Don't skip toasting the walnuts. Combined with the soft apple and flakey pastry, it's a delicious and impressive dessert. Serve with a scoop of ice cream and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gecko14
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
These were amazing! My family absolutely loved them. I used freshly picked apples and instead of buying the container of pie crusts like the recipe calles for, I made the Buttter Flakey Pie Crust and wrapped 5 entire small apples (peeled cored, and cut into 2 halves). I had a little bit of trouble getting the apples wrapped but that was because of my changes and I was able to eventually cover them. A warning though, on two of the dumplings, somehow the pastry must have ripped while bking because whaen I took them out, the filling had spilled out onto the pan. On these two, the apples did not have as much flavor on the inside and were not as good as the others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
EXCELLENT - I tried a recipe that used cresent rolls - don't waste your time - no comparison to using REAL pie crust. These were great - only thing I didn't do was put nuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Excellent authentic apple dumplings. Don't settle for that popular recipe calling for Crescent Rolls and Mountain Dew. This is the real deal and blows away that recipe. A slightly tart apple (like Granny Smith) provides a nice balance to the sweet sauce and filling. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
The best apple dumplings I have ever tasted! I added a teaspoon more cornstarch to the cinnamon than the recipe called for but otherwise they were very good. I used a mix of Cortland and Jonagold apples too. P.S. I am only 9, but I love to cook!! (Tricia's 9 year old son)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Used Miracle crust recipe from this site and they were fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Photo by chocogranma
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
These were the best. Used purchased pie crust, but still felt like a chef wrapping each dumpling and the sauce is a must.So simple and fresh,impressed everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocogranma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Delicious! I used Granny Smith cut in half horizontally, wrapped up in premade dough. Followed recipe and it is perfect!! (served warm with vanilla bean ice cream of course) MMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Good recipe. I used this in my Foods 1 class and my students really enjoyed them. It was difficult to wrap the apples. My students were thinking though they decided to cut their apples up. I had them make the pastry from scratch so that was also a factor. I will definitely use this again in my class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murphysboro, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States