Apple Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Awesome! I made a few adjustments- I coated the apples in cinnamon suger before placing in the dough. I also cut the apples in half, and used 1/4 a pie crust for each 1/2 an apple (So there was a little less apple per dumpling and more crust) I served them at a dinner party and people were absolutely floored at how good they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
It didn't make a difference what kind of apples I used. This came out great. Also keeps well in the fridg and freezer !!!!!! What a plus for unexpected company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
For a quick, simple dessert, they don't come any easier than this! Use Granny Smith, Golden Delicious, or similar baking apples. I used puff pastry dough and lightly sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar. We made extra sauce and kicked it up a notch by adding dark rum before reduction. Yum! Have some vanilla ice cream on hand too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
great recipe!!! the dumplings just melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
YUM! These were so good and so easy to make! No one would ever know that you use ready made pie crust. The sauce is delicious. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
This was so easy and delicious! My grandma asks me to make this for family get togethers...she says its even better than hers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
My husband love's apple dumplings and this is the first time I have made them. They turned out very tasty but the sauce carmelized while baking. Maybe I should have taken them out of the pan before they cooled because they stuck to the pan and I had a horrible time getting them out. Will make this again but will do something different with the sauce, maybe pouring over after 20 minutes of baking or just remove dumplings before cooling. Anyone has an idea please let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
These were absoultely delicious. Since my husband and I are both diabetics, I used Splenda and they turned out great. I used the suggestions of others by coating them with cinnamon/sugar and adding a small pat of butter in the center. I will be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
These are wonderful! I, too, coated the apple in cinnamon/sugar before wrapping them and I also added a pat of butter into the cored apple and sprinkled a bit of nutmeg into it. I baked them 20 minutes before pouring on the sauce then finished the baking. They are heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
best apple dumpling sauce i ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States