Apple Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
These were very good and simple to make. Not too sweet--just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRESAB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
these were soooo good. i made them as the recipe said, only i added a little more cinnamon to the sauce. i also used 'Basic Flaky Pie Crust' from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
My husband love's apple dumplings and this is the first time I have made them. They turned out very tasty but the sauce carmelized while baking. Maybe I should have taken them out of the pan before they cooled because they stuck to the pan and I had a horrible time getting them out. Will make this again but will do something different with the sauce, maybe pouring over after 20 minutes of baking or just remove dumplings before cooling. Anyone has an idea please let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessiek
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This recipe was perfect for the apples from my parents' apple tree. I ran out of white sugar for the sauce and finished with 1/4 brown sugar and it still worked fantastic. I read some other reviews and did dust the apples with cinnimon and sugar as well as the pastries before going in the oven. My husband LOVED the pastry crust and the perfectly soft, sweet apple center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessiek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
These were pretty good. They just didn't look appealing to me. Maybe my technique but they looked like lumps and it didn't look good even though it tasted good and flaked nicely. I think the cinnamon in the sauce made it a little purple. The sauce was a little too sweet but the apples were tender. I made homemade crust from this site. If I try them again, I will spend time trying to make them look better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Awesome! I made a few adjustments- I coated the apples in cinnamon suger before placing in the dough. I also cut the apples in half, and used 1/4 a pie crust for each 1/2 an apple (So there was a little less apple per dumpling and more crust) I served them at a dinner party and people were absolutely floored at how good they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
For a quick, simple dessert, they don't come any easier than this! Use Granny Smith, Golden Delicious, or similar baking apples. I used puff pastry dough and lightly sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar. We made extra sauce and kicked it up a notch by adding dark rum before reduction. Yum! Have some vanilla ice cream on hand too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Made for breakfast this morning. Very simple to do and the kids really liked. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This is a crowd pleaser with all the family and friends! It's so popular that it is being requested as the family dessert for the holidays this year. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Hardy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
It didn't make a difference what kind of apples I used. This came out great. Also keeps well in the fridg and freezer !!!!!! What a plus for unexpected company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States