Apple Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
I made this recipe without the syrup and it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I followed the recipe exactly, with one exception - I used brown sugar instead of white only on the apples, (kept white sugar for syrup). Next time, I will definitely use smaller apples or make more pastry. I made the pastry very thin, and still didn't have enough to cover all of the apples that I had. The pastries did stay together well though. I didn't have any break open during baking. It seemed like this made a ton of syrup, so I only used half while baking and the rest to spoon over just before eating. A good recipe, but I may try a few others to find the perfect one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
really good can even make your own dough. but the syrup really runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Thanks for sharing this recipe. I had fun making these with my 11 year old step son. He kept telling me how much he loves brown sugar so I told him we could stuff the inside of the apples with rasins, chopped pecans and his favorite(brown sugar). I did a horrible job coring the apples...lol. I need to buy an apple corer. It didn't matter. The dough held the apple together perfectly anyways. There was even left over dough for Christan to play with and we baked it up with sugar and cinnamon sprinkled on top. I used butter flavored crisco. I also omitted the nutmeg just because I am out. These were delicious served with a bit of homeade vanilla ice cream. This kid is never going to want to go home now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAINTNMYNAILS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Wow! This looks JUST like my little old grandmother's recipe. I haven't made it so this isn't exactly a review, I just wanted to add that we always used to eat these fresh out the oven with extra syrup and cold milk poured over it. The milk gives it that little bit of creaminess without adding extra sweetness that it really doesn't need. Try it, its phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This was a good recipe, I would prefer less nutmeg, i would rather taste the apples more than the spices. Since I wanted to make these for more than six people, I chopped the apples and mixed them with the sugar and spices. Then I spooned them on to the pieces of the dough and folded it over like a pocket. They turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
three thumbs up for these. i stuffed the middles w/ cooked chicken and served them over rice as a not-so-main, main dish and everyone raved over them. i make these quite often. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
this is a great recipe! i didn't end up with that much crust so i only put half an apple in the little squares i made. i baked them at 350 until they were lightly golden brown and then reduced the heat to 300 because they were pretty close to the top rack for another 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristie111

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
I'd suggest a couple of changes to make this better: First, use only half the syrup or the dough will get too soggy and float away...or use a larger pan (maybe my fault was that the pan I used was smaller and so the liquid rose higher.) Pre-poach or slice the apples so they will cook by the time the dough browns. I also had to use very small apples or there wouldn't have been enough dough to cover. Next time, I will double the crust recipe to get extra scraps to make leaf cut-outs for decorating. The flavor is very good, though. I liked this recipe. Nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
My husband and I had fun making these; but we need some practice! I would recommend using an apple corer to core the apples instead of cutting them in half to core them; our apples ended up falling apart while they baked. And our syrup caramelized in the oven and wasn't edible. Still, very yummy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States