Apple Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
I definitely recommend serving these warm out of the oven with ice cream for a nice contrast. I planned on making these with an entire apple and leaving it whole.. but as I was making it I decided that it would be much better to slice the apple up a bit and use a little bit less. It just would've been too much. Also, I didnt think the syrup was quite thick enough..nor do I think the food coloring is necessary. just use brown sugar instead of white, it will give it better flavor anyway. I wanted to add raisins and chopped walnuts to the dumpling but I forgot, so I just sprinkled it over before I served it. Came out great and everyone loved it, I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahS
Living In: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This recipe was awsome.We loved the syrup over top of them.I followed the recipe exact and turned out perfect.Will be making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Incredible! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Yummmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Excellent recipe…a must keep. You will need to double or triple the pastry dough. I also halved the apples. The syrup was the highlight of the recipe. It is an easy one as well. The dumplings came out beautiful and crisp. With the excess syrup in the pan drizzled on them, they were beautiful and tasty. A nice recipe for dinners. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
These are the best apple dumplings. We tripled the dough and halved our 6 large Granny Smith apples for 12 dumplings and almost ran short on the dough. Also doubled the sauce and used half brown half white sugar. Next time I will try adding chopped nuts and raisins to the apples. Worth all the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
OK, I don't know if I should be rating this recipie because I made so many changes, but here goes. These were very good! I chopped the apples into peices and put the seasonings on them while I made the crust. I used the Best Ever Pie Curst recipe from this site. And I didn't make the sauce to pour over the top (Hubby wanted a more "apple pie" like dessert:-) And although I want to try the sauce for the top next time- very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverview, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cordova, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This is an awesome recipe. I used hybrid gala/granny smith apples that I bought at Sam's Club. They were perfect. Just the right size, texture and flavor. I also keep my shortening in the fridge. This makes for such a nich pastry crust. I wouldn't change a thing in the recipe. I will definately make this a regular winter/holiday treat at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laralou
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Thought this was a really good and tasty recipe. But since it is 800+ calories per serving I made some changes. I omitted the TB pat on the dumplings and only used 1/8th of the syrup. Hopefully that will decrease some fat/calories! I had plenty of pastry dough for 6 dumplings. Turned out tasty and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bernardsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I had leftover pastry dough so I decided to make this, my company really enjoyed it. Wasn't fussy on the syrup, would like more of a caramel sauce. Would definitely make the dumplings again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States