Apple Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Very good! I even liked the sauce and I'm not a big nutmeg person! I found that the easiest way to get the pie crust onto the apple is to first roll the dough between two bread sacks and then to lift the bottom of the bread sack and press it onto the apple with the dab of butter. The sack will peel away leaving the dough. I gave this one less star though because I couldn't get the sauce to thicken--it was more like juice. So I stuck the sauce back on the burner and boiled for almost 30 min until it would foam at the top even while stirring. I also served with ice cream and caramel sauce. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ames86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Yum O!! these were delish!! they looked really messy before i put them in the oven so i didnt know how they were going to turn out but they were very good! the liquid thickened as it cooked and became a sort of sauce for the dumpling..so worth it! will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicca90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I love apple dumplings, but this recipe was disappointing. The big issues were: 1.) The sauce was not good. It could've been a cinnamon-y flavor carrier, but instead it was like a gelantinous overly-sweet goo. It need cinnamon and nutmeg badly.The red food coloring made me feel like I was eating melted candy. Not good melted candy, either. 2.) Unless you're looking for a biscuit-type of consistency, this pastry was much too soft. The biggest reason is probably that there's just too much baking powder in this recipe. If you use this amount, that salty, almost carbonated flavor you'll taste is leavening. I'd use 1/2 tsp. if I made these again. 3. I felt the baking time and temp was off. I used Jonathan apples and they were still very firm after 35 min. while the pastry on the bottom of the dumpling was still slightly doughy. Maybe trying a higher baking temp (400 for the first 15 min and then 375 for the last 15) would make the apple nice and soft and the pastry crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Very yummy! Loved this recipe! Can't wait to do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique Ging

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This recipe was great and my family loved it!! the only change i did was cut up the apple into small pieces because i didnt want that big apple in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIBEL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I didn't use any nutmeg, butter with the apples or the red food coloring. I added 1/2 tsp vanilla to the syrup and used ice water in place of the milk. I doubled the recipe and made tweleve dumplings with 3 apple slices, 1 tbsp of the sugar mix, and a caramel in each. They were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Morgan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is the recipe from Better Homes and Gardens original cookbook. My Mom made these while I was growing up and now I make them and so does my daughter. Best recipe for Apple dumplings but I've also used the very same recipe and used fresh peaches. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
The pastry was good but I wasn't impressed with anything else. I didn't feel that I really had enough dough to work with which ended up making the fillings overflow in the oven and made my entire house fill wtih smoke. The filling was not sweet enough and overall didn't have a very good flavor. The syrup was also much too runny. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This is what I did: Made the dough the night before, cut into 6 squares, layered them between layers of parchment paper, refrigerated overnight. Took them out of the fridge about 20 min before using. The next day, I made the sauce (Using Margarine, instead of Butter...and No Food Colouring), then I made the apples, using margarine instead of butter. Delicious Recipe!! Tip: I had a hard time getting my dough to be 12x18, so I rolled it as big as I was comfortable with, then I cut it into 6 squares. Then, I rolled each square out 1 at a time, and made them as big as I could. Much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Carr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I've tried SEVERAL apple dumpling recipes and this is the keeper. So delicious and so easy!! I had some store-bought refrigerated pie crusts on hand, so I used those instead of making my own crust, but next time I do want to try this crust recipe. It looks so easy. These dumplings are loaded with flavor. Coating the apples with the dry cinnamon mixture is key. It sticks to the apple. (Other recipes have you pour a syrup on the apple, which basically runs down and sits at the bottom.) I did made the mistake of only using half of the syrup to pour over the dumplings, thinking that it would make the crust soggy, but the syrup actually carmelized during baking, so I used that to drizzle over the ice cream that I topped the dumpling with. Soooo good. Next time I'll utilize all the syrup to have more for drizzling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States